PHARMACY IN COSTA RICA


Advertisement
Published: February 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

If you saw my huge burn on my back from a recent trip to the beach you would be speechless. I am as red as a lobster with a huge blister all across my back. I can barely sleep, move, dress up, lean on the back of a chair, or bend down. I have to literally stand still like a Queen's Guard at the royal residence to feel good.

On Saturday I thought I will be fine without sunscreen, on Sunday I put the sun screen on but thought I should be fine on the beach for 5 hours, on Monday I bought a tube of Aloe Vera and today I had to go the pharmacy for medicine.

When I arrived a very nice guy asked what he can help with and I told him that I have a huge burn with a huge blister.


-How did you get burned?

-It’s sunburn and I might need antibiotics, I said.


He went to the back and brought a professionally looking cream of Sulfadiazina de Plata Genfar and another tube of Aloe Vera.


-Let me ask if the doctor can see you. Is it ok?


I was thrilled. After a few years of living in the States there is no such a thing as giving medicaments without prescription or seeing a doctor without even knowing your name. A nice lady came out, took me to the back, looked at the blister and said:


-Wow! That’s the biggest blister I have seen.


She gave me a few creams, painkillers, Aloe Gel and said to check back in a few days!

There are might be a lot of divergent opinions about social medicine but in a case like that where I don’t have insurance and need medical assistance is all about people helping people and not referrals to dermatologists. I absolutely love the people here! Everyone is trying to help 😊

Hopefully, the blister will go away pretty soon. But experiences like this make you get better even faster. PURA VIDA!

Advertisement



8th February 2012

tontita
you are almost at the equator tontita:) pobrecita, I hope you feel better soon...don't go to the beach without sunscreen...but you know that already...tu papa y yo forgot to tell you that one;)
8th February 2012

I know mamacita! Papito rico wrote me a big aducational e-mail already =/ How is everything for you?
10th February 2012

Your burn
So sorry to hear about your mishap in the sun. You paid a price for all that free time on the beach!!! I'm also glad to hear you got some good care and that the people are helping you. Wish I could be there to take it all in :) Blessings, Skip
11th February 2012

Poor thing!
Sun burns are the worst! I hope you are feeling better my dear. I'm sure you've got your chin up and you're having a great time and dancing despite the discomfort :) Hugs and kisses!
12th February 2012

Thank you sweety. I am thinking about coming to see you in the sunny Cali :) Besos
12th February 2012

Thank you sweety. I am thinking about coming to see you in the sunny Cali :) Besos

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb