Vagina and peace.


Advertisement
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After an early night last night I finally left San Jose! Daryl, a woman I met on my last trip to Panama, invited me to come stay with her. She lived in a little city about an hour outside of San Jose by bus. It is a cute little town, not too hot, not too cold. I'm very surprised bye the lack of insects. Daryl lives with 4 other women. They all are getting masters degrees from the University for Peace, a UN mandated school on the middle of a mountain. The students mainly live in Ciudad Colon so school buses (yes the same ones we have) come on a schedule. There are 200 students from 60 countries. The campus is beautiful, very open with lots of fans. There is the Peace Park with everything from a garden to a look out point to a statue to a BBQ pit. I'd spend time there if I went to the school. If I forget, remind me to tell Emma she should get her Masters there, obviously in due time. I sat in on a class, I don't know what the title of it was. It was interesting, we talked about the different roots of conflict. After we set up for a performance of the Vagina Monologues. It was a good show. I almost bought a t-shirt. Tomorrow I'm probably going to Manuel Antonio. It seems like a beach party town that has a forest attached. It's only 4hrs from San Jose so I figure I can go for a few days and be back for La Tortuga Feliz. I heard back from Lost and Found and he said they would be happy to have me! Two people at UPeace gave me suggestions for volunteering.

Advertisement



6th February 2010

Hello Laura, You sound wonderful. Please get some infor for Emma about the peace program. Who knows she maybe interested down the road. Send some pictures when you get to Manuel Antoni. We saw so many animals there including a sloth. Enjoy. It is cold here but we have no snow/ We have only had 2 snow storms. xxoo Lynn

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb