Week with Sam


Advertisement
Published: October 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Week with Samuel:

Sam got to San Ramon, Costa Rica last Tuesday, at 1:35 PM. I had to sit through 1:40 minutes of class before I got to see him. Tuesday evening we went to dinner at Bocaditos, a little bar and restaurant and only had a little time to walk around town before it got dark. I had class all day Wednesday, but after class we walked around San Ramon and went to Karaoke night at Secretos with some of my friends. Thursday morning, I didn’t have class so we went to my favorite café for coffee, cheesecake, and French fries, my fav : )

Friday at 12 we left for the beach town of Puntarenas. We had reservations at the Hilton and when we got there we asked a man where it was and he told us there was no Hilton in this town and that he would call us a taxi to get the Hilton 60 KM away… We told him we didn’t want to take his taxi. Right then I should have known he was lying, because he pointed in the direction of San Ramon… Puntareanas is basically the entire coast, so at the time I wasn’t sure. He said he would show us some good hotels that were close. He showed us some ‘shit-holes’ that ‘cost’ 30 mil or 60 dollars a night. The one we finally decided on was decently nice. We paid, he asked for a tip and left. When the lady came back to give us towels she told us it is only 25 mil or 50 dollars to stay there a night and that he took our money. That was not a nice way to start off our trip… Later, we walked the board walk and had dinner at a nice seafood place. The following morning we shopped through all the little booths set up on the board walk- as there was a cruise ship in the port. We spent some time on the beach before heading back to San Ramon for a Halloween party.

Halloween is celebrated here, but is seen as a ‘devil worshiping’ holiday- according to my host mom. The youth here like to dress up and as always, celebrate with a fiesta. We went to a night club called Night Fever where there was a costume party and SOOO many people. I had a fun time with Sam and all my friends.

Sunday afternoon we went to La Musas, which is the waterfall and waterpark I went to when I first got here. It wasn’t overly sunny, but it was still nice to enjoy the afternoon outside.

Sam left this morning at 4 AM and just got to Portland a bit ago. Tonight I went with my host family to the house of the girlfriend of my host mom’s brother in Palmares to sell my host mom’s products. She is quite the sales woman.

22 days until Raemi and Ian come to visit!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb