Las Cruces Day 7


Advertisement
Published: September 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

The last few days have been busy here! Our free day on Monday, we went into San Vito. I visited the post office (to mail my absentee ballot info) and the supermarket. My new favorite fruit are mamon chinos. Sooooo tasty.

This morning there was an earthquake! Apparently it was 7.9 off the Pacific coast near Guanacaste. And the epicenter was about 25 miles below the surface so luckily the damage was minimal. We felt it all the way here in Las Cruces though (about 500km away). We were in class when it hit. It was sooo weird – not like any earthquakes I have ever felt. Initially I thought I was dizzy and then I looked around and saw the curtains swinging. The feeling was really weird, and the movement wasn’t so intense but it lasted for 45 seconds! It’s a big deal because scientists have been predicting it for a while now. It’s ironic too because our afternoon class today was geology and we learned about tectonic plates in Costa Rica which cause earthquakes.

After the earthquake, we took about a 3.5 hour hike to Melissa’s meadow and saw the forest restoration projects around here. It was really hot but you can’t really hike in the afternoon without getting soaked.

Fog comes in occasionally. Yesterday morning right after breakfast it came in – and it comes so fast! You’re looking at a great view one second, and 5 seconds later it’s packed in with fog. I also saw two toucans yesterday. We think they live in two palms near the dining commons. Still haven’t seen any monkeys. But apparently they are very common at La Selva and throw their pee at you. Super.

Sometimes I can only do blog and pictures instead of email in one night so I’ll be in touch when I can.

Miss you and love you familia!

Xoxoxo Kelsey

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb