Day 10: Today we take to the sea! (Sort of)


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Puntarenas » Quepos
February 12th 2018
Published: February 14th 2018
Edit Blog Post

We had a leisurely start to our morning before being picked up at our casa for a boat tour through the Damas estuary. The estuary runs parallel to the Pacific Ocean and is filled with mangroves. We had excellent wildlife viewing here as well and saw many birds including the world’s smallest kingfisher. White faced capuchin monkeys scrambled through the mangroves looking for food, we saw tree crabs, bats sleeping under a leaning tree trunk, iguanas in the trees, a four eyed opossum who was NOT happy we peeked in on him and a silky anteater that took forever to spot because our instructions were to look for a brown “clump” in the trees where our guide was pointing. We eventually spotted him (he was sleeping and balled up tribble style).

We have so many beautiful photos from this trip and I have the artistic and quick eyes of T, Shasta and Evie to thank. Almost all the blog photos have been theirs. I’ve been increasingly lax at photo taking when I know someone else is doing it (and always a better job than I can do) and get so distracted by actually seeing the critters that I rarely think to pull out my camera. Surprisingly, however I can whisper “oh my god, Shasta, get a picture of that” with lightning speed. The bossiness is strong with me.

After we docked, the tour company served us all a traditional lunch of Casado (grilled chicken, rice, beans, veggies and yucca) and sour guava juice (all delicious) before bringing us back home where we had a leisurely float in our glorious pool. We ended the day by making quesadillas, fresh guacamole and our own pico do gallo. We had them with refried beans and tortilla chips from the grocery store and dined al fresco on our stunning balcony. Not too shabby. The stay at this house has been a real treat after all our hotels - they were all nice but I gots to admit - I loved all the space here and being able to do laundry. Its hot here and everything gets sweaty (bleah) so I took full advantage and laundered to my heart’s content and will be heading home with a suitcase packed with clean laundry. Bliss.

Next up: The last hurrah! (it may involve shopping - just sayin’)



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb