Day 25 to 29: Puerto Jimenez and Bolita Rainforest Hostel


Advertisement
Published: April 9th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Port JiminezPort JiminezPort Jiminez

Rain clouds on the sea at Puerto Jimenez
I heard of Bolita from other travelers who had been there. As I was considering going to Corcovado National Park, they suggested Bolita as an alternative, a hostel inside a primary rainforest, accessed from Puerto Jimenez.

What attracted me to Bolita (apart from traveler reviews) was this was an individual effort at conservation and it's remoteness.

To get to Bolita (and to return from it), you have to stay in Puerto Jimenez one night each way (unless you are comfortable hiking in a rainforest in the night, I met a guy who actually did that).

Puerto Jimenez is mostly a transit town, but like many places in Costa Rica, it boasts of brilliant sunsets.

To go to Bolita, the first thing is to pack stuff you need into a small bag (the hike is short but strenuous, so no point trying it with your big bag), pack the food you will need (no restaurant in the rainforest). Having procured the essentials, I met two other travelers who were also going to Bolita, we shared a cab to the base station and then hiked up.

We were welcomed by 3 volunteers who were working there. Super chilled
Puerto Jimenez SunsetPuerto Jimenez SunsetPuerto Jimenez Sunset

Sunset at Puerto Jimenez
team, very passionate about hiking. And at least 2 of them will visit India this/next year, especially after all the discussions we had about Indian food 😊

I spent the next couple of days doing some of the hikes there and they are all super nice. And Bolita is a clothing optional place though everyone was clothed at all times (people go in the buff when they are hiking by themselves I guess).

There was a very nice place to do yoga just above the kitchen and I ended up taking advantage of it. Met some really cool people there including someone who had traveled in Pakistan extensively on a bike 😊

The stupid thing I did was I had booked a flight from San Jose to Panama City even before I reached Costa Rica. A d while from Bolita I could see Panama (yes it's really close), I had to trudge back to San Jose and next day take the flight. Well, we live and learn.

Bolita was a nice way to round off Costa Rica and it's nature. And to me Costa Rica will always be about nature, sunsets and friends I made there.
Bolita SunriseBolita SunriseBolita Sunrise

Sunrise from Bolita


Onwards to Panama.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

BolitaBolita
Bolita

Roads less travelled - Bolita
BolitaBolita
Bolita

Cactus collection at Bolita


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb