Day 6: Curi Cancha Reserve, Monteverde


Advertisement
Published: March 1st 2022
Edit Blog Post

Curi Cancha Reserve, MonteverdeCuri Cancha Reserve, MonteverdeCuri Cancha Reserve, Monteverde

The trails are easy to do
Curi Cancha reserve is about 3KM from Monteverde Cloud Reserve. Most people skip it because they think the two are similar but I had read it has really good bird life, so I decided to visit it.

Which meant walking the 3KM to get to the reserve and then doing the trails inside the reserve. The entry fee is $20 and the reserve shuts at 3PM, so important to time things well.

I did couple of the trails inside Curi Cancha, but hadn't seen any birds or animals and it was appearing as if my decision wasn't a smart one. Then I stopped at a view point where I noticed some butterflies and I was watching them and suddenly I noticed hummingbirds. I have never seen one up close and this one was particularly close, fearless, busy with his pursuits. As I watched the hummingbird, what struck me was the amount of energy it spends to be at one place, focusing on one thing, just being in that moment. And my thoughts were if this little bird can be so focused and Zen, why can't I be like him?

As I walked away with that thought and walked
Curi Cancha trail mapCuri Cancha trail mapCuri Cancha trail map

Ended up doing most of them
more trails, my focus was lot sharper. And I began to notice lot more. Every tree was a whole ecosystem supporting multitude of life. It wasn't all just a bunch of green anymore, it was specific things.

And that concentration led to me discovering lot more animals like the Agouti, the White nosed Coati, the White throated Capuchin and more. The forest has lots to offer, only if we stop and notice.

By 3pm, I had already walked nearly 19KM in the day and headed back to my hostel. A meal and a jacuzzi later (Selina has a very cool free Jacuzzi), I was ready to crash.

A worthwhile day, with mud on the boots and a learning - to just be.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Life on lifeLife on life
Life on life

Every tree is a whole ecosystem
AgoutiAgouti
Agouti

She was focused on her meal and ignored me completely
White nosed CoatiWhite nosed Coati
White nosed Coati

This animal has a very interesting relationship with the Basal tree. It's the primary pollinator for the tree and in turn gets its food from the tree. Saw a whole family
Forest giantsForest giants
Forest giants

This was a sight to behold
Jacuzzi at Selina MonteverdeJacuzzi at Selina Monteverde
Jacuzzi at Selina Monteverde

After a day's walk, the body needs to recover


1st March 2022
White nosed Coati

Pura Vida!
Thanks for share, enjoy your trip!

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb