Bluest of Blues


Advertisement
Published: January 12th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Blue is the favorite color of both me and my dear Mom. How many of you know your Mom's favorite color? Anyway, the point I want to make, is that during some of my travels, I have seen the bluest of blues. It never occurred to me, to make note of the "bluest blues" on my travels. The first moment came while at Monteverde, Costa Rica. I woke one morning, sat on the deck with my coffee, and gazed west to the Pacific Ocean. Suddenly, it hit me. This was the bluest blue I have ever seen! I wish I could find my photos. Since then, the bluest blues have come and gone, always reminding me of those two days in Monteverde (twice visited). For those of you unfamiliar with Monteverde, it is the central point of their continental divide. It made me feel like I was on top of the world. At only 4662 above sea level, Monteverde is a tropical cloud forest, and home to the world's first ziplines. Since then, the bluest blues have come and gone. But a few are worth mentioning. Close to home, Crater Lake is a beautiful dark blue, particularly on a sunny Oregon day. Even closer to home, Lake Tahoe is equally the most beautiful blue on a clear day. I can also share with you my "super ultra secret' place for snorkeling on Maui. It is the small, but spectacular Honolua Bay, just outside of Kapalua. But the blue and the view are the best in Maui, other than from the top of Haleakala. Further from home, Halong Bay, Vietnam is a beautiful aqua blue on a pristine day. Not only is it warm enough to swim, the area is dotted with thousands of limestone karsts, creating beautiful contrasts to the water. The pristine and beautiful Andaman Sea, off the coasts of both Malaysia and Thailand were memorable. The islands of Langkawi and Penang are not far from the mainland, but have beautiful beaches and ocean blues. And you may remember, Penang has the best food in the world! Most blues, other than music or water, might involve a structure, such as the famous Blue Mosque in Istanbul. It was an amazing sight, but the blues were not vibrant. Where might the bluest sky appear? I think where the air is clean, and the weather is cold and windy. That narrows my choices down to either Siberia or Alaska. I spent two weeks in Siberia, so go to Alaska instead! How about Old Blue Eyes? And all the songs about the color blue? Neil Diamond's Song, Sung Blue? Willie's Blue Eyes Cryin' in the Rain? Tell me your favorite.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 36; qc: 151; dbt: 0.1335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb