Last 5 days Manuel Antonio


Advertisement
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We left Monteverde by van & headed to Manuel Antonio on Costa Rica's Pacific coast. On the way we stopped at the crocodile bridge to have a look at those bad boys. As we descended from the cool highlands it got very hot. We got there at 2pm & headed straight for the beach where we bought a bbq lunch . After this we went for a swim & hung out there for the rest of the day.

The next morning I had fried plantains on the beach for breakfast, an old woman cooked them in situ. Then we visited the Manuel Antonio National Park. With our guide we were practically tripping over sloths, monkeys, frogs & deer. The ticket is multi-entry for the day so Paul & me returned after lunch to snorkel off the fantastic beaches in the park. We watched the racoons & capuchin monkeys raiding peoples stuff for goodies on the beach.

At 1.15ish I was snorkelling directly over a large yellow puffer fish, the water started to surge very unusually, it felt like I was lurching back & forth in the water & not like normal waves, I nearly landed on that puffer fish. Later on we heard on the tv that a 6.5 strong earthquake had struck the country near the Poas volcano. So that was my 2nd earthquake, the 1st was in Athens & this one which I felt in the water! We stayed by the beach until the park closed. I had my last dinner with the guys that night. I liked this place so much that I decided to detach from the group & chill here until my flight home in 3 days.

The next morning I moved into the Costa Linda because it was cheaper than the hotel. It only cost $10 & it had wifi. I had my last breakfast with Paul & Fran there, we got fruit, pancakes & maple syrup, then came a huge plate of gallo pinto, all this came with free tea or coffee, all for 1500 colones. It's the only 2 course breakfast I've ever had! I walked the guys to the bus stop & waited until the bus came. Then I went online to confirm my flights & other business. After this I got the bus to Quepos to buy my ticket back to San Jose in advance, because it's a very busy route. I came back to Manuel & hung out on the beach for the rest of the day watching & listening to the Howler monkeys.

Next morning I was collected for my Mangrove kayak tour, this was very cool & relaxing. I saw loads of birds, a jesus lizard running across water, turtles & monkeys . The guide & me paddled down Rio Paqueto to Damas Island & back. Lunch was included & we ate together. I was back in Manuel at 2pm I couldn't resist the urge to go to the beaches in the park again. Also I checked out some of the walking routes I had not done before. To finish the day I went for a swim in the Pacific, as I was drying off a short tail deer came out of the forest & right up to me. I had dinner at the Costa Linda that night & used the net until about midnight.

On my 2nd last day the 9.30am bus left Quepos & picked me up in Manuel Antonio. I was in San Jose at 1.30pm. I went to the Rincone hotel to live it up a little for my last night.

I was in Juan Santamaria airport at 6am the next morning, I paid my dpt tax & boarded the Delta flight to Atlanta, after a 5 hour lay over I was on my way home to Dublin. When I arrived home the sun was shinning, it was a crisp, cold morning. I had jetlag & caught a really heavy cold, which took a week to shake off.

I was sad to leave my new friends but that is the way it goes. My only regret is that I did not stay longer & travel further. I had the time of my life & loved every minute I was there, I will be back soon.

To best sum up my feelings, I remember walking along the beach at Manuel Antonio & I noticed someone had written in the sand " the best is yet to come"!





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

CapuchinCapuchin
Capuchin

These guys & the racoons raided the beach for peoples food.


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb