Zipping into the New Year


Advertisement
Published: January 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

Happy New Year again to all of you! I hope you all had fun and festive celebrations.! After our last installment, we took a boat across Laguna de Arenal to reach our transport which curved around and around and around on bumpy terrain with shear drops of unknown depth which made me gasp repeatedly! Happily we arrived in the cloud forest where we toured the rain forest with a local guide. And although I feared the swaying bridges I decided to embrace my fears and try ziplining! Why not, it's a new year for new things, right? It was breathtaking!! Although it was raining, the clouds hid the lines, and made it all the more exciting. An awesome way to ring in the new year!

Now we are in Manuel Antonio where Fitch and I just saw a clan of monkeys, up close and personal, in fact perhaps a bit too close. One frightened me with it's snarling grin. Yikes! We also saw numerous butterflies and an agouti. Tomorrow I hope we will see the ever elusive toucan (It is true, Brenda and Nancy, I am still on the hunt to see the Fruit-Loop bird! I figure Brazil was good to us at the last moment, so Costa Rica should be too!).

Thanks for all your messages, I will respond when I return home!
Adios Amigos!
Wendy

Advertisement



2nd January 2009

Toucans
I'm glad that you tried ziplining! You really could be on the Amazing Race now. I am confident you will see a toucan before you leave Costa Rica. For some reason, they like to hide from you until the last day of your trips!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb