COURAGE, EN PIED, y LA PLAYA!!!


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Puntarenas » Jaco
February 6th 2012
Published: February 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I gotta tell ya: « It takes a lot of courage to travel by yourself.” This weekend I went to Jacó, a surfing beach on the Pacific side.

I woke up at 4:45am, had a plate of gallopinto (rice and beans), got dressed and took the bus to San José. Not knowing where to go I run around looking for el Terminal Coca Cola to buy a ticket for $2065 colones ($4) to Jaco.


-One to Jaco at 7am, I said in espanol.

-We only have 7:45am “en pied” or the other at 8:45am.

-En pied?

-Si, en pied.





A bunch of idea went through my head. Does this bus just go to Pied? To get out of the line as soon as possible I gave the cahier $50,000 colones (about $100) and got the ticket for 7:45am. He gave me the change and I rapidly stuck in my pocket. Who cares to count, right?

While waiting at the bus stop there were a lot of gringas and I was dying to ask where “Pied” was.

When the time came to board I climbed on the bus and sat behind an obviously American girl my age. Two minutes later I realized that people were looking for a seat number on their tickets. I looked at my ticket and all it said was “En Pied.” Hm…

I leaned forward to the girl:


-Excuse me. Do you speak English?

-Yes!

-Is there supposed to be a seat number?

-You are En Pied! Standing!





CARAMBA!

I took my backpack and moved behind. The bus moved. 10 minutes later an older gentlemen from the front seat waived at me.


- ¿Yo?

- Si, si, tu!





I grabbed my pack and slowly, as a drunk salesman moved to the front of the bus.

A bus driver turned around:


-You don’t have to ride “en Pied”, you can seat next to me.





That was a VIP spot! I could see it all: mountains, volcanoes, bikers, runners, even crocodiles! Needless to say, I got to practice my Spanish with the nicest tico bus driver. That lasted for about an hour until the seat next to the ginga who helped me with that entire “en pied” thing became vacant. We started talking and she became my “best friend!” and “that’s how it’s done.”

When we arrived to Jaco, two other girls met us at a ticket office to buy the return ticket. There it occurred to me that the cashier gave me change as if it was from 5000 colones ($10) and not 50000 ($100). Here is a lesson: COUNT YOUR MONEY BEFORE WALKING AWAY!

We headed to Taco Bar and had a delicious breakfast for $3. Then we headed to the beach where I got to know the girls and we got hit on by 5 ticos with a bunch of beer.

Here are the most common questions in Costa Rica:


-Where are you from?

-How old are you?

-Do you have a boyfriend?





Well… even with moving my ring to the left hand and saying that I have a serious boyfriend in Ukraine they wouldn’t leave us alone. We had to take off ourselves. The girls went to the bus stop and I went to find a hostel.



As much as I hate shopping I hate looking for hostels. I walked to the first one by the beach and got a room for $12. Then I went for a walk. While strolling on the main avenida I saw a pretty cute guy with a backpack. We exchanged looks.

When I went back to my hostel guess who was my roommate? Yeah!


-Do you smoke weed?





Who is this man I thought to myself but with open heart and sincere smile we ended up talking for at least 2 hours, having breakfast in the morning and spending half a day on the beach. He was a 24 yo Swedish truck driver who came to Costa Rica to surf.

The Sunday was spent on the beach and I GOT BURNED! Ouch ouch ouch… It was a real pain to get back home on the bus. When I got back there was a new a girl who arrived to Catalina’s house. She is 18 and no espanol!

After telling Catalina all about my trip she said that the cashier didn’t give me the wrong change. There is no 50000 colones in Costa Rica. Only 5000. AZUCAR! At least it will teach me to pay attention.

With pain, courage, and open heart it was a great weekend!

Cheers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



6th February 2012

:)
Hello Courageous Marina! Good for you for taking advantage of your days! Haha...seems like you are learning something new each day there...Greetings from the airport in Amsterdam:)
6th February 2012

I hope you have a great trip back home! I can't believe time is flying so fast. HUGS :)
9th February 2012

Уроки.
Мариночка будь осторожнее с солнцем и внимательной в путешествиях. Очень скучаю. Люблю. Крепео целую. Мама.

Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb