Carribean Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Carribean coast


I have spent some time on the carribean coast and it's hard to describe everything I have been through here.. I'll try. First, I got to Cahuita, a little town on the beach and next to a national park. I got to know Hortensia and Ingrid, two crazy Colombian sisters who have a restaurant called Natural Ingrid. It didn't take long until I was wearing their T-shirt and had volunteered to help out on the inauguration of their second restaurant. We went out to dance salsa and everything was pretty crazy. Early next morning I visited the national park with some travellers from the hostel, and it was a nice 9km or so walk. Amazing beach. During the inauguration I don't know if I really helped out that much or if I was mostly in the way, but at least on the pictures it lookes like I'm doing something. We made lots of coconut juices which were yummy! I met up with my friend David who's working with turtles in a reserve. We left the colombian sisters for some peaceful hiking along the beaches of Costa Rica. First Cahuita, then Puerto Viejo and from there we hiked to Manzanillo (for those of you who know). Anyway, it was amazing to hike along the beach and stop for a swim whenever it was getting too hot or a nap when you felt like a snooze... We did a bit of snorkeling and it was great that David was amazed by all the fish, it cheered me up cause I was sad about all the dead coral. Apparently, a lot of coral bleeching happened last year. We hiked on and met some really nice people on the way and had (not enough!) super tasty mangos and other fruits. Life is good... David's vacation from the park ended and we headed back to Cahuita. Had to stay there one night, so we got to stay in Ingrid's restaurant. People were chocked when they heard where we slept, only then I realized it didn't sound like a typical backpacker story (which is even better, I've had enough of the backpacking culture).

Off to the turtle reserve where David works and I was going to volunteer for a few days. The reserve itself was like paradise with the small houses just by the beach. You go there by boat and hike a lot along the beach. I joined the patrol at night, where we looked for leatherback turtles nesting on the beach. The eggs are collected and relocated somewhere nearby to avoid poachers taking the eggs. One night I was down there holding the bag the eggs fell into. It is quite amazing being there while a huge, 1.5 m turtle is laying eggs while in trans. You can hear her heavy breath and actually it feels more like you're in a National Geographic movie. Doesn't feel real. Even more emotional was when I was part of the excavation of the nests during the day. We hiked along the beach and checked up on the nests. There was one where the young turtles were on their way out. We helped them out and I was digging more than 45 little ones out of that nest. It was amazing to see them paddle their way down towards the sea. Again, something at least I have only seen on TV before. A lot of work looking after 45 of them though, cause it was pretty hot and we had to make sure they wouldn't get fried. After they all were in the sea we could take a deep breath.. Wow.

A few days of working with the turtles made me want to do more turtle work, we'll see what happens with that. I left the reserve and all the great people over there for Cahuita, and spent some time there. I enjoyed the beach and the sun and the great food and company at the restaurant.

I am having a great time here and whoever has some time and money over - COME HERE!! There's so much to see and do. All kinds of crazy people. I can't get enough of the nature here. Anyone feel like going to Cuba by the way? ; )

Oh, and one more thing. I have extended my flight for a little bit, so I'll be back in Stockholm on nov 17th.

Ok, enjoy the pics!

Love Helena



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

ExcavationsExcavations
Excavations

Not as nice excavations, this time the turtles didn't make it.


14th June 2006

Crazy and cute
Hej Helena, This brings back all the memories of when I was patrolling the beaches for turtles. You are really blessed to have seen the babies, I was never that lucky! I am glad you got to dance some salsa. You know I would be there in a flash with you but I got to finish studying!
14th June 2006

wow
i want2go there, how is ur spanish going???here evrything is good as well, summer is warm and nice, im happy at work, and thinking about where to go in summer, for sure the places u r showing are where i would like to be right now!kisses!!!!
16th June 2006

Harligt!
Sa underbart att du delar med dig av alla dina upplevelser! Det ar sa harligt att lasa vad du varit med om och fotona ar underbara!!! Det later verkligen sa spannande. Hoppas du ar redo att resa med mig om ca 10 ar. Verkar som att den delen av varlden verkligen ar vard att besokas! Ja, ja da far vi vanta anda till November tills vi ser dig igen...SNYFT! Far val gratta dig har och nu ocksa, for jag vet inte nar jag kan fa tag pa dig, fast det kanske ar lite tidigt... Kramar, Sis
16th June 2006

Surprise, surprise!
Hola Helena! What a surprise! By accident I met this side here on this part of the internet. Anyway, thanks a lot for your nice pictures you sent me by email. May be I see you soon at Ingrids restaurant in Cahuita. I will send this URL to Ingrid by email. By the way, Hortensia is not a sister of Ingrid but a good friend. She came a couple of month from the Columbian island San Andres to help Ingrid in their restaurants. Anyway, have a nice time in Costa Rica and .......PURA VIDA!!
26th June 2006

Underbart
Hej gumman, helt underbart. Woaw. Stor kram Kattis

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb