Gates (by Candace)


Advertisement
Published: June 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

When we arrived at CPI, we entered through a large gate. Nothing crossed my mind initially, until we left the school and each house was surrounded by a gate. Each gate was different in size and color, but they each protected the houses. I thought it was very unique. The first morning of school, my Mamá Tica handed me a set of keys; one key to the gate and the other for the door. I remember thinking how nice she was; to not only open her home to me, but to give me a set of keys too!!! Then I arrived at school and everyone had keys! (I still felt special though).

While living in Heredia, I found that security was strict, and the gates surrounding the homes made perfect sense. Our tour guide always told us that we were safe; just don’t flash expensive things around. The people are very precautious and protective of their belongings. This was a total shock to me. At my house we have a gate, but it does not have a lock. Before I actually committed to studying abroad in Costa Rica, I researched the people. From what I saw the land was nothing like Heredia; I saw dirt roads and lots of coffee fields. To see the modern homes and the gates were shocking. After day two, I was use to using my keys. The gates were double locked and I see how hard the people work for their belongings and they want to protect everything they have. For me the gates were not only for protecting, but they also added another dimension to the homes. I think the gates are a nice asset to the homes!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

National Theater GateNational Theater Gate
National Theater Gate

Even some of the largest cultural sites in the country have gates. This is the National Theater in San Jose.
Gate at CPI in MonteverdeGate at CPI in Monteverde
Gate at CPI in Monteverde

Both CPI in Heredia and CPI in Monteverde have gates.


27th June 2012

Gates
Really enjoyed reading Candace's blog on gates and her observation on what they repeesent

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb