Costa Rica - Playa Samara


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2022
Edit Blog Post

It was beautiful they said....

I decided since I was already in the western hemisphere to go ahead and again visit my friend who was traveling central America. He didn't need to try too hard to convince me, especially when my Jetblue flight was canceled. I initially planned to fly to Jetblue to Liberia, Costa Rica, but while my sister and I were hiking with friends, she received a message from Jetblue. I had given them her number as I do not have a US number. Apparently, only Americans with American numbers are allowed to book American flights or some BS - it is really annoying. Anyway, we waited to listen and found out that that flight was also canceled. Wth? I thought Jetblue was one of the most reliable.

I wound up rebooking with American Airlines, which I have not flown in at least a decade. I had to fly from Rochester to Chicago to Miami overnight then onto Liberia. Rochester - easy. Chicago, actually pretty easy but friggin freezing and all restaurants were insanely packed. Arrived in Miami just before midnight, got a taxi to a nearby hotel for a quick rest for about 6 hours, then back and easily back on the flight (my luggage was checked the whole way through and I had my boarding pass).

I arrived in Liberia mid-morning, quickly got through customs, got my small luggage, and my friend was waiting for me - we both thought it would be another 45 minutes or so. The humidity was immediately apparent and I was still bundled up due to the freezing airports and planes, so I did a quick change and we waited for a bus to take us to Playa Samara. While waiting, we started the party early, getting rum and Coke Zero to pass the time. We were among the first on the bus to take us to Nicoya, a white open air very basic bus. Yes - the experience started immediately! In Nicoya, there are three bus stations, and we were dropped at one, the second was the wrong one, and the third was where we caught the very crowded bus to Playa Samara. A guy told us that another bus was going, but this one was too and it was leaving right then. We had to stand for a bit, but one by one, people got off and soon we were both sitting.

We got off in Samara, right in front of a cute little cafe. It was pouring rain. We walked towards the hostel we had booked, Hotel las Mariposas, me pulling my roller down the gravel and flooded streets. I was in flip flops and did not even try to keep my feet dry. L kept walking in front, carrying my bag at this point, but I paused in front of a gate, standing in a huge puddle, telling him, I think this is it! Yep. We went in and the entire lot was flooded by about 6 inches of water. We saw a guy swinging in a hammock inches above the water. A girl met us and took us to the little reception area, apologizing for the flood. She said they messaged me to say I could book elsewhere as they were not expecting the flood; apparently, it had been raining heavily since the previous night and had not stopped. The wet season had essentially started early. She said, we would be ok as our room was upstairs with a bathroom on that floor. I was trying to not think what was in the water at my feet with the toilets on the ground floor.... Otherwise, the hotel was actually pretty cute.

We decided to unload our stuff and go back to the crossroads area ("town") to get some lunch. We ate a delicious lunch at Coco's and had some margaritas and while there, the rain stopped. So we walked around town a bit, looking and some of the cute artisan areas and potential options for travel to the next location. Then we walked down to the beach and turned left. It was getting mid afternoon, but based on the geography, there would be no real sunset views and it was still a bit misty anyway. We took our time though and enjoyed the beach, finally heading back up through boutique hotels to the main road. Here, a guy in a golf cart with a little dog offered us a ride back into town and dropped us off at Limey's Bar and Restaurant. Here they had a pool table upstairs, so we got Pina coladas and played a few games of pool, soon playing with a couple from New Jersey who had been there for a week and this was their last night. They gave us a few suggestions, but we were mostly over it - the rain was brutal. Then we headed back to our flooded hostel. Actually, it was mostly drained at this point thankfully.

The next day, we went to the cute cafe for a nice breakfast and tried to figure out our next move. We went to a travel agency nearby and they assured us that we could get a shuttle to La Fortuna the next day. We were trying to decide between La Fortuna and Monteverde - I would only be able to do one in my time frame. I opted for La Fortuna because we would have hot springs, Arenal, sloths, and hiking - basically everything, while Monteverde would mainly be hiking. We were happy to hike in the cloud forests in the rain, but the beach was a bummer.

From here, we figured to take it easy and went back to the beach, this time turning right. The weather was still misty and with the heavy rainfall, debris was strewn across the beach. So, not the most inviting. We went back to the hostel with drinks and played cards for like three hours. Then we went back to town to confirm our shuttle..... which was a no-go. Ugh. Stress again because it was definitely time to leave! Instead we decided just to do the bus route the next day. We got a drink at a cute little hole in the wall Microbar while figuring out the schedule, before heading back to Limey's to play pool again. This time, we played with a couple local guys and it was fun. When we got back to the hotel, I went to reception to let them know we planned to leave early the next morning and the owner was there, and apologized profusely for the flood - he pointed: "See, my materials were already supposed to arrive today, but the rain came early!" There was indeed a huge pile of dirt that looked ready for a construction project. We were fine. While disappointing, it is rainy season and the hostel is very cute and close to the beach, the room was comfortable, we had hot showers.... it was fine.

The next morning, we caught the 6:30am bus and were on our way to La Fortuna.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



9th July 2022

And the floods came
This could prove to be an interesting trip.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb