Liberia


Advertisement
Published: August 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Still not in Nicaragua due to a lot of travel issues.

We made it to Montezuma after dark last night and it was another mad dash to find a place to stay. We were turned down at our first choice and then just went to the closest place available. Macayla did not want to walk to the one I would have chosen as the next best because it was a little further away. So we stayed at Pencion Jenny which was terrible. The beds were awful and I had the creeps. It was a terrible night but it was only $8 eachl. I am getting tired of really crappy places. I have stayed in much better for not much more. As soon as I woke up this morning (7 am), we packed in a hurry and made it to the bus stop by 8 am for the bus back to Paquera. We just decided that our time is running short and need to get to Nicaragua. Plus, Montezuma was not a place I felt like staying at probably because of the hostel situation. The bus did not leave until 8:30 am and maybe that was a sign of things to come. We got to Paquera and the next ferry was not until 1pm. This was another time change that I was unaware of. I have to be more diligent in the future and check times ahead. Made it to Puntarenas at 2pm. Rushed to the other side of town and made it in time for the 2.5 hour bus to Liberia. This is when things got bad. We made it about an hour into our trip when the bus starts backing down this really long road. Since my Spanish is non-existent we had no way of knowing what was going on. Finally the bus stops and everyone starts getting off of the bus. I am so bewildered and I stick my head out of the window asking if there is anyone who speaks English. Finally someone speaks up and says that the bridge is "broken" and we must walk across because the bus cannot drive across the bridge. I am thinking to myself that if the bus cannot go across, how can we walk it? Macayla and I start to follow everyone else and start getting really nervous about this whole situation. As we are walking across the bridge rain begins to fall HEAVILY!! The bridge is literally broken in the middle and we had to step down probably 12 inches. Very scary.
I have to get off the computer because they have decided to close early. I will have to finish my story tomorrow. Should make it to the border tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb