Day 56 to 65: Costa Rica (La Fortuna, Tamarindo, Liberia)


Advertisement
Published: June 1st 2022
Edit Blog Post

La FortunaLa FortunaLa Fortuna

La Fortuna City Center
Given that I couldn't be in Panama longer than 30 days, I had decided to cross back into Costa Rica to do two places I had missed earlier - La Fortuna and Tamarindo and then cross over to Nicaragua.

I left from Boquete to David by the chicken bus, it was so slow that I almost missed my connection for going into Costa Rica. These are old school buses converted into local buses and hence sometimes have speed limits.

Panama to Costa Rica was my first land border crossing in Central America and it went off smoothly.

I traveled that day to San Jose, rested the night and headed to La Fortuna the next day.

It was the Semana Santa week (Easter), so I knew there will be lot of tourists including locals, so to avoid the crowds I stayed in the hostel for a few days.

La Fortuna itself is very touristy, but my main reason of going there was Rio Celeste, a torquoise blue water river with a waterfall. The Rio Celeste river is part of the Tenorio Volcano National Park, the tour included a small hike and a dip in the blue waters
Rio CelesteRio CelesteRio Celeste

Rio Celeste waters
(outside the park).

Tamarindo is mainly a surfing town with nice beaches, again very popular with tourists. I just chilled there for couple of days before heading to Liberia to do my PCR test (Nicaragua needed that for entry) and the exit bus.

In Liberia, I found perhaps the best Indian restaurant of my trip so far, called Masala. Run by a guy from Faridabad, their food was surprisingly authentic and the secret lay in the fact that they imported spices from India.

The border crossing from Costa Rica to Nicaragua was also easy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Rio CelesteRio Celeste
Rio Celeste

Rio Celeste waterfall
Arenal VolcanoArenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano

Arenal Volcano
Tamarindo HostelTamarindo Hostel
Tamarindo Hostel

My hostel in Tamarindo
Little green buddyLittle green buddy
Little green buddy

Met him at the bus stop in Tamarindo
Masala Restaurant in LiberiaMasala Restaurant in Liberia
Masala Restaurant in Liberia

Masala Restaurant in Liberia


1st June 2022
La Fortuna

Arenal volcano
Nice to see that you also stayed in La Fortuna and visited the volcano. We were there in 2018
1st June 2022
Masala Restaurant in Liberia

Looks very yummy!
Good to know that there are real Indian food there!

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb