Border crossing...


Advertisement
Published: December 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

BorderBorderBorder

You pretty much just walk across between the trucks from Costa Rica into Nicaragua, then head to an office for an exit stamp and another for an entrance stamp. It´s a snap if you hire a local "guide".
I got up early, packed, and headed to the bus stop. I had heard that if I could get to Liberia, a short 5 hour trip on the local bus, I would be able to get a bus to Nicaragua. After a very trying 5 hours I arrived in Liberia and made my way to the hotel that would sell me the ticket to Nica. It is hot. I´m wearing jeans (which apparently don´t fit me), and a heavy pack, and attempting to "frogger" my way across a 5 lane road that has no obvious traffic signals. I made it, but quickly determined that the hotel did not sell tickets and I would have to make my way back across the highway to a small restaurant to get the tickets. I managed to make it to the restaurant, now sweating profusely, to find out that there is no bus to Nicaragua today, but I could get one tomorrow, but first I would need to travel 5 hours or so back to San Jose. That´s not going to happen. I walked back to the bus station hoping to get a bus to Penas Blancas, the cluster of houses and sodas closest to
OmetepeOmetepeOmetepe

First views of Volcan Concepcion on Isla de Ometepe from the car.
the border, but as near as I can tell the next bus is leaving in a hour and will take around 2 hours to get to the border. At this point I´m hot, tired, and just want to get somewhere. I saw a cab driver who earlier had offered to take me to the border and took him up on his previous offer.

Once I arrived at the border I was approached by a local kid who asked me in perfect english if I wanted to hire a guide - meaning I pay him to get me quickly and efficiently over the border. Let me tell you, this was the best $4 or so I´ve spent so far. My guide steered me past the touts and money changers and I was in Nicaragua in less than 20 minutes. Once in Nicaragua I hired another cab to take me to San Juan del Sur, where I could spend another few days on the beach. I found a hotel and headed to the beach to catch the sunset before dinner.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

San Juan de SurSan Juan de Sur
San Juan de Sur

I made it to San Juan de Sur in time to find a hotel and secure a spot on the beach to watch the sunset.


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb