Climbing the Volcano


Advertisement
Published: April 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Red BlossemRed BlossemRed Blossem

Looks like a flower sprouting from a flower of the same species.
As has become my habit of late, the first thing I do upon awakening is look out my front door to gaze at the Arsenal volcano, but today with some trepidation. Today is the day we are going to climb it. It sure looks high, and steep.

We have until this afternoon before the bus arrives so we spent the morning just lazing around. I even had a rare morning nap. After all, it is a vacation!

Shortly after getting on the bus, I learn that we are to hike only as far as the end of the lava flow. The peak cannot be accessed from this side. I had misread the information during my research. I was half relieved, half disappointed. Nevertheless, we had a very informative hike. Our guide was very knowledgeable about botany, stopping every 100 metres or so to point out different types of orchids and other flowers and medicinal plants. A good strategy for us to catch our breath. It certainly would have been a boring walk on our own.

The highlight of the walk was eating termites. They were very small, only about 5mm long, so not at all intimidating. I would
Rain CatcherRain CatcherRain Catcher

Each petal hardens and becomes a rain reservoir to soak the seed.
have walked right past the nest without noticing if I was on my own. Poking the nest, which looked like a lump of mud hanging from a fallen tree, set the termites into a roiling confusion of activity. I set my finger on this mass and left it there until about seven little creatures were on my finger. Up to my mouth and sucked my finger. Crunching down on them produced a flavour like carrots and caraway seeds. Not bad, really! A few minutes later, I could feel something on my tongue. One had escaped the original mashing. I manouvered it onto one of my few remaining molars and crunched down. I then began to wonder if I had swallowed any whole and if it would crawl up my throat!

We left the national park at about dusk for our last destination, Baldi hot springs, for a buffet supper. This place is an architectural wonder. There are at least eight thermal pools with waterfalls, lush vegetation, giant TV screens showing soccer matches and some with water slides. There were probably others hidden within the compound. The place was crowded. We didn’t go bathing. It is not my idea of
Red Blossem 2Red Blossem 2Red Blossem 2

In full bloom.
relaxing to go from hot humid air to hot water, even if flows over rocks and I can swim up to the bar.

We decided on the buffet meal as the restaurant would cost at least $50 each and there was nothing on the menu I had not seen elsewhere. Extra charge for the ambience, I guess. The buffet ambience was almost as good for half the price. We took a taxi back to our inn. For some reason, it cost more for a shorter distance than the night before. Ambience again, I presume.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Mosaic TilesMosaic Tiles
Mosaic Tiles

Nice pattern. Non-slip surface for stairs and pathways. Had seen some on the return trail from our rappelling adventure.
Volcano Pond 1Volcano Pond 1
Volcano Pond 1

Reflection of volcano in pond in National Park.
Volcano Pond 2Volcano Pond 2
Volcano Pond 2

Yours truly ready for a hike.
Volcano Pond 3Volcano Pond 3
Volcano Pond 3

Glad to be here.
Heart LeavesHeart Leaves
Heart Leaves

Red spots on the underside of some leaves that are an adaptation to attract insects.
White FlowerWhite Flower
White Flower

Ground flora.
Green OrchidGreen Orchid
Green Orchid

Looks more like a Snapdragon to me.
Lake ArenalLake Arenal
Lake Arenal

Man-made lake with a dam at one end supplying more than 40% of the country's electrical power.
Volcanic RocksVolcanic Rocks
Volcanic Rocks

No wonder nothing has been able to grow here in 50 years.
Volcanic RockVolcanic Rock
Volcanic Rock

A few hardy flowers
Baldi 1Baldi 1
Baldi 1

What every spa needs. A swim up bar.
Baldi 2Baldi 2
Baldi 2

A pre supper dip anyone.


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb