Paradise Found


Advertisement
Published: March 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yes, Costa Rica's best kept secret is a lovely, lovely, swimming beach 7kms from Puerto Viejo called Punta Uva. White sand, turquoise-colored water, small cabins, nice people. I absolutely loved it and could consider staying there for a month or two. Indeed, a French couple from Perpignan whom I met there discovered it three years ago and is now building a house just across the road from the "cabinas" where they keep staying.

Believe it or not, I ran into Liz and Tony on the beach and had dinner with them. They are the British-born couple who lived in Bermuda for 30 years and now live in Costa Rica and whom I met on the excursion to Tortuguero. Another coincidence: they know Susan and Harry, my hosts outside of San Jose!


After leaving paradise, I paid $45 and took a shuttle van to Fortuna, where the Arenal Volcano is. The backpackers hotel where I'd made a reservation was full with a group of 41 Canadian students (yes, it's spring break for North Americans!), so they put me up in a private home next door for $10, including breakfast. Noel, the owner, and Nancy, the manager, were really nice.
Playa Cocles next to my hotelPlaya Cocles next to my hotelPlaya Cocles next to my hotel

This is the surfers' beach. I'll be posting a photo of Punta Uva beach as soon as Tony forwards one onto me. (I didn't take my camera that day!)
I took their tour up to the Baldi thermal baths and then further up to the viewing point of the volcano. It was pitch dark, but you could see red balls of lava fire streaming down the mountain. Unfortunately, my camera wasn't able to take a night photo, but I'm going to find one to post here on my blog.

Left Fortuna this morning and took a van+boat across Lake Arenal+another van up here to Santa Elena, which is a few kilometers from the Monteverde Rain Forest. My plans are to do a walk on suspended bridges this afternoon above another forest and then visit the MV rain forest tomorrow morning bright and early so as to see the animals and birds. Will probably stay here two nights and then travel down to the Pacific Coast. Am still hesitating between a beach on the Nacoya Peninsula or the national park (and beaches) of Manuel Antonio for the weekend. Back to Susan and Harry's on the 18th and return flight to Guatemala City on March 19th. Think I already wrote that I wanted to see Holy Week in Antigua. Also decided to splurge and pay for the plane and a
Liz and TonyLiz and TonyLiz and Tony

during our dinner in Puerto Viejo
night at Tikal, the Mayan ruins in northern Guatemala. Will now try to post some photos. Bye.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

the Arenal Volcanothe Arenal Volcano
the Arenal Volcano

taken from the boat on Lake Arenal


13th March 2008

Very jealous
With all the rain and wind in Paris, I'm very envious. So pleased you're having a marvelous time.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb