This is Poas Volcano, Jadeite Lake Surface


Advertisement
Published: July 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Poas VolcanoPoas VolcanoPoas Volcano

What do you think?
It is really a relaxing excursion. Fresh air, lake-blue sky, glittering grass with water drops, and cotton-like cloud, they all appear. From Grecia to Poas Volcano National Park, it takes almost three hours. There is only one bus from Alajuela heading to the Poas Volcano at 9:15 am, and returning from the volcano at 2:30 pm.



It is said that Poas Volcano is the most visited one of the others in Costa Rica. I think that's partly because it is easy to finish the Park and see whole. But, truly, there were a bunch of people on the bus that day with us. Oh, that was Sunday by the way. However, Costa Rica is the country that posseses most national parks to preserve the forests. Moreover, here you can see not only tropical rainforests, cloud forests, and dry lands, which indicates this is a country full of biodiversity.



Well, let's go back to MY trip. Actually I didn't see a BUNCH of animals. I think the only animal there is HUMAN BEINGS, haha. In the Park, you can see a variety of flauna but most of them are anonymious to me. I mean, if you
LagunaLagunaLaguna

With its vapor, and cloud, the lake looks more fantastic.
are not a botanist, how can you recognize them?? But, overall, it is a good place to relax although it is not big enough to hang around for a whole day. Well, I prefer to see more things in downtown, I guess.



It's really a pity that the Government doesn't organize well the route of the Park. Why not construct an animal exhibition hall or hold some animal and plants lecture there??? I mean, they should do more with this invalueable resource. However, I am just a foreign turist from FAR EAST. Maybe I don't know what their really concern is.



Volcano Poas is magnificent. With its jadeite Crater lake, it looks like a lady embracing a piece of precious jade. According to Wikipedia(if it's not correct, correction is welcome), since 1828, it has erupted 39 times. What surprises me is its odor of sulfur. It is very light. I am not sure if it's due to the temperature or to the humidity. I doesn't smell so strong as that in Taiwan. In Taiwan, Yangming Mountain in Taipei releases really strong strong strong odor of sulfur.



Oh, and there is another
My friend Juan and IMy friend Juan and IMy friend Juan and I

Pura Vida en Poas
Crater lake which is really beautiful. With the moderate temperature and warm sunshine, my friend and I really enjoyed the scenery of the Crater lakes. Watching at them, I was thinking about Taiwan. Actually Taiwan posseses almost the same scenery and geographic charastic. The only problem is Taiwan's population is so-called EXPLOSIVE. Actually it is harder for us to make it. But we did do efforts on the organization of national parks and it works.



I think the most interesting thing about making a trip is to think about your own country. The bitterness, the sweetness, the goodness, the badness, and which part relates more to you country, the difference, the similarity, the beauty, the custom, anything can really touches your heart. Going on a trip is not seeing "what this country WANTS you to see," but seeing "what you HAVE to see and SHOULD see." Trip makes us think, compare, and try to find out anything we can do to our country.



This is Poas Volcano. I don't know if your country has volcanos. If yes, come and see the difference or the similarities. If no, come and just enjoy it. No matter
It's me and the VolcanoIt's me and the VolcanoIt's me and the Volcano

The vapor is incredible
it is yes or no, just don't forget, here, PURA VIDA.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

MapMap
Map

It might help but if you have a friend who has been here once, that helps more.
The surface of LagunaThe surface of Laguna
The surface of Laguna

After the fog dissappearing, the shinning surface emerges...
VaporVapor
Vapor

With the beautiful vapor, it seems more mysterious... :)
Main CraterMain Crater
Main Crater

It seems still active; however, it doesn't release the strong smell of sulfer...
Look upLook up
Look up

Look up at the sky... um... yap like in the movie... the adventurous one....
AltitudeAltitude
Altitude

Due to its high altitude and the season now, it is really chill to be there, so don't forget your jacket! By the way, the air is fresh fresh


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb