Loco.


Advertisement
Published: September 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It has been a crazy week. First, my Wednesday field trip was canceled because the machine broke. So, on Wednesday we went to class like normal. At around 8:45, I got really annoyed because I thought the girl next to me was tapping her foot and shaking the desk/floor. In about 30 seconds, when everyone was looking at each other, I realized it wasn't foot-tapping... It was an earth quake... Our teacher calmly told us to exit the room and that's when everything REALLY started shaking. Things fell off the walls, the power went out, and we lost water- almost all day. When I came home for lunch I watched the news with my host family and they showed pictures of the real damage near the coast. It was really, really sad. I can't believe I was experienced a real earthquake!



This morning, Ashley and I woke up early, to go to our Community Service place before classes. Our professor picked us up and drove us there. It is going to be a lonnnnng walk every Tuesday at 6 am to get there... But, I think it will be a great experience. It is a small 'preschool' for low-income families. They have 20 ninos. I can't wait for the Tuesday after next!



This afternoon, we all joined a gym. It is probably the nicest gym I have ever entered, but was also a bit expensive. We had to go through "fitness tests" with the personal trainer. We got on this scale like thing that told us our weight/body fat/ and apparently other things because the personal trainer told me I am very "Atletica". We had heart rate monitors on and ran a mile, did pushups, sit ups, etc. They have 2 trainers there all the time that you can ask for help. Also, all the classes come with the membership! I am excited to try it all!



This weekend we are going on a fieldtrip to the San Ramon Reserve. I told my host dad this and he told me to be very careful, to watch where I walk/sit, and to not grab anything while I am walking because there are many snakes. My professor said that the minimum number of snakes he has ever seen there is 5. I am NOT excited for this 😞 But, the hiking and forest sounds fun!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb