May 13


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Chopping All Day 83 secs
Lo and behold, my favorite cop cruised up while I was leaving my house to turn off the development's water pump (which I have to turn on and off every three or so days). He wanted something, of course, but I told him I needed to turn off the water pump. He walked up there with me, so I offered him a drink when we got back. I only had beer, so he said that was fine - but only one, since he was on duty, and the breathalyzers will allow one beer. Good old Costa Rica.

Power went off a little after 7 pm last night for no reason, I thought. This morning, I read this: At 7:16 p.m. Central Valley residents experienced a short, sharp quake in the 4.0 range. The duration was less than 15 seconds. Automatic monitors showed that the quake took place in the vicinity of Volcán Poás.

Earlier this morning, I heard a chirp like I get on my phone when there's an email. I thought, that's not right. I looked over to my right, and there was a bird perched on my window bars looking in at me. Then he pecked away at a few bugs, and flew off. Glad I can accommodate the wildlife.

Pretty boring stuff, huh? But I've already gotten some news that I probably shouldn't publish on the internet. It's about a certain gringo who owns a certain real estate business. Seems this someone was driving in the city one evening recently and allegedly was inebriated and allegedly hit the back of a taxi, and incurred allegedly $10,000 worth of damage and fines or whatever. The truth is often (always) blown out of proportion around here, so it's all heresay. The strange thing to me is that I would never think this person to be the type that would drive drunk, especially in Costa Rica. I don't even like to drive sober at night in Costa Rica. And this person is also heading up a local small business organization to help us gringos out. Oh, well.

I better get outside and pull some weeds with the help of my machete before it gets too hot. Man, where is Omar the Peon when you need him? Oh, yeah, I've got to finish writing that story. Maybe I'll do it in installments. I'll try to work on it later today. By the way, that big bird in the picture was really friendly. Does anyone know what it is? It almost ate right out of my hand.

More movies on www.youtube.com I am Amadays1 You can do a search. Or not.

Advertisement



14th May 2010

Your flying friend
This is zopilote negro; Coragyps atratus You don't want to know where that mouth has been.
19th May 2010

A Winner on my friendly bird.
Zopilote negro. A vulture. You win the first try at the pinata, Clark.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb