Back in Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: May 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Okay, I'm back in CR, house-sitting our three houses; Gary's, Vince's and mine. I returned after a month in the U.S. I won't bore you with the arrival details because I know you like the colorful stuff. I've been here for 12 hours and, so far, nothing colorful has happened, thankfully. I'm sure that will change. Small stuff; my yard needs cutting, and the ants have decimated the plants I had put on the ridge behind my house, for the tenth time. Good thing I had Omar the Peon plant a bunch of natural stuff as backup because those are growing fine. I wrote all about the Omar Saga but never sent it out. I'll try and get it out on this blog site, if I see enough people have subscribed to make it worthwhile. and I'll even post some more reckless ritings if I see people are interested. Some of them are on my computer, as I write this.

It's cloudy now, which is a change from when I left, when it was the dry season. Now it's the rainy season, although it hasn't rained in the last 12 hours. My new gate and barbed wire seems to have done the trick on the cow problem. I see no evidence of cow activity, and I never got a word from Vince or Gary about my alarm going off while I was back in the states. But there was some bug partying while I was gone, as I found quite a lot of dead bugs in my house, especially around the sliding glass doors. Those doors are typical of the quality of stuff in Costa Rica. There are gaps that let all sorts of bugs into my house, as well as sand and dirt in the dry (windy) season. Well, I better sweep them up now. I swept last night when I got in but I guess I missed a few hundred or so. I guess my gecko couldn't keep up with them. I heard him (or her) last night chirping more than usual; probably happy to have me home - tired of drinking from the toilets.

The toucans were also noisy this morning, but I didn't go out to look for them. I'll have more time to enjoy nature later. And I'm just waiting for the biggest bug of all, Fabian the motorcycle cop, to show up and bother me. At least, now, with the new gate, he can't blast down my driveway, drive along my narrow front yard, spin around on the side, then park his bike in front of my house and slowly remove his helmet like he's the Terminator or something - all while I'm peacefully on the computer and barely awake in the morning. But the day ain't over yet.




Advertisement



12th May 2010

Hey
Paul we always stay at playa avellanas at Cabanas Las Olas when we go. Are you near there? Just got back from Italy at Cinque Terre and it was great. Hope all is well with you, Mike
13th May 2010

Avellanas
Hi Mike, I've been to Avellanas. Beautiful beach, nice waves. Went only once, though.

Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb