Rainy Season brings Sunshine in San Ramon


Advertisement
Published: June 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

"Winter" has finally arrived here in Costa Rica and I couldn't be happier. The weather is still 70 to 80 degrees everyday here in San Ramon, as we are living in a higher altitude. And yes, the rain has arrived. Normally, if it were a rainy day, I might feel a lil lousy, might feel stuck playing bored games (yes, I spelled it that way on purpose). However, during the rainy season there is almost a 100 percent chance that each morning it will be sunny. The rain doesnt usually come until the afternoon. The grassy scenery is much much greener. It's absolutely spectacular to view each and every day. The rain becomes a part of your day, it's tranquility in nature.

Salsa lessons update- Yeah, it's getting a little bit more confusing. This week brought the first time I stepped on my director's feet more than once. One time I actually knocked her over. It was something you'd see on instant replay via ESPN. However, I still refuse to return to the states anything but a rockin salsa dancer.

Spanish progress- I am ashamed to say I have not been studying spanish in the last few weeks. I've become a little bit complacent as I am able to get by easily without a dictionary. I still don't think it's enough though. I am going to try to get myself motivated to become grammatically fluent in this beautiful language. I will say, however, that being able to converse with the locals is one of the more rewarding experiences I've had. I'm looking forward to travelling to other Spanish speaking countries and try my new idioma skills.

Project update- Business is nothing but fun lately. We are really growing as a company, just adding our newest member, Rodrigo Torres. He is an award winning architect who lives in Grecia. His work is art. Period. I'm so happy to have him in the family because he seems to love his work a lot more than the money he gets for it. The other day one of our Boomer's tour clients asked him if he was married. He responded, " My wife is my architecture." When people love what they are doing around you, it makes your "job" almost a hobby.

Anyways, we're coming up on almost a year down here and we've learned a ton. I know I've grown not only professionally but personally. I've developed some close friends that I know will be there for life. I feel gratitude towards Costa Rica for these friendships. There is something about this place that makes you want to give a little more. I've never been big on regrets, but I've had a few. Moving here certainly has not been one of them. Please feel free to write me with any questions. I am more than happy to share my experience with those looking to try this place out.

Keep in Touch,

Preston Gitlin
President
CR Communities
PGitlin@CRCommunities.com

Advertisement



23rd September 2007

Hey internet buddy. Glad to hear things are going well. And there's nothing wrong with board games. I routinely play internet scrabble. Don't be a Skype stranger.

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0989s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb