San Carlos Farm


Advertisement
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I apologize that I haven’t written a blog in a while. I have been quite busy with getting work done that I have forgotten to write. I only have a few days left here so I am going to try to write about my last little adventures. I am sorry if these blogs are a little bit on the short side.

The weekend after Steve and I went to Memo’s, we were lucky enough to be able to go to another farm. We were invited my Lilliana, the French teacher at Saint Clare, and her husband to go to their farm in San Carlos. San Carlos is a beautiful region sitting in the hills near Volcan Arenal, Costa Rica’s most popular and active volcano. Lilliana and her husband, Luis Diego, own a grass-fed cattle ranch for meat production. The trip is about two and a half hours from San Jose up and over the central mountain range but it is an awesome drive and well worth it once you get to the farm. We arrived at the ranch on Saturday at about noon so once we got unpacked we had a quick lunch followed by a nap in the hammock that lasted about an hour or two. Sometimes life on the farm is tough but someone has to do it. After our nap, Luis Diego took Steve and me on a short tour of the farm. While he and Lilliana are in Tres Rios working during the week, they have a man, Luis, who lives on the farm and handles the cows for them. After the walk Steve and I went for a swim in the river that passes by their house. There is a river in Costa Rica called the Rio Celeste and is something that you must see if you travel here. I wasn’t able to go but that gives me a reason to come back I guess. The river contains minerals from the Arenal Volcano that make the water look a brilliant blue. At a certain time of the day, the river passing by the farm house has some of the same properties due to is close vicinity to Volcan Arenal. The rest of the day was just relaxing as we sat out on the porch practicing our Spanish and learning more about the area.

On Sunday morning Steve and I woke up and started our day by milking a cow. Steve was first to go and I don’t think I have laughed so hard in my life. He had a bit of trouble getting the milk to flow but once he got it going he was on a roll. I didn’t have any problems getting milk but I think that is because I was able to watch for a while. After we had had enough, Luis’ wife Blanca sat down to finish and she put us to shame. She was a milking machine. I thought I was doing pretty well when milk was constantly flowing but she was practically making whipped cream with how fast she was doing it. It was amazing. After our apparently unsuccessful milking experience we had a quick breakfast and then mounted some horses with Luis Diego to see the rest of the farm. Te ride lasted about 3 hours and the views were incredible. We also rode through primary forest where Luis Diego showed us a hot spring that they have on their property. Once our ride was over we took a shower, had some lunch, and then packed up to make our way home. The weekend was incredibly relaxing and I had a great time.

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving. I wish I could have been there to celebrate with you.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Traveling PalmTraveling Palm
Traveling Palm

No matter how these trees are planted, they will migrate so that the broad sides are facing East and West.
Great Lookout on our RideGreat Lookout on our Ride
Great Lookout on our Ride

Check out that sweet hat!


Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.053s; cc: 14; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb