White-Water Rafting


Advertisement
Published: April 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Arenal Volcano in CloudArenal Volcano in CloudArenal Volcano in Cloud

Cloud just wrapped itself around the volcano and continued on its merry way. Cool.
More water sports today. White water rafting with Wave Experiences is on the menu. I chose the class 2&3 rapids tour. Claudette decided to take the day off. She has had enough of getting her face wet after the rappelling adventure.

Our destination was about an hour out of town. The guide, Fabio, gave an entertaining introduction and monologue to keep us amused along the way. After a brief pit stop, we turned off the main road to reach our starting point. There were 70 people signed up for today’s river descent.

Each raft held six people. It was a mad scramble and lots of wasted time as people tried to decide who they wanted to go with. There were some over-sized groups. Easy for me. I just latched myself onto a group of five.

They were a family group from South Carolina. I sat in the back with the mother. She couldn’t get the hang of it. Each time we went over a rock, she would get bounced into my lap or she would grab onto me with her paddle handle hand. I was sure I was going to at least get a black eye from the paddle. She was supposed to grab onto the rope around the edge of the raft and hold onto the handle.

After at least three gropings I explained that if she continued to be so intimate with me, she should at least tell me her name. I will not mention it in order to protect her dignity. She was a bit embarrassed by the whole affair. I am glad hubby was on another raft. At one point she was going overboard so both the guide and I grabbed her and pulled her back in. Not an easy task as she is quite a large woman. She was most grateful.

At one point, we were invited to jump into the water in a calm stretch of the river. I explained to the guide that I would need help getting back into the raft. No problem, he said. What bliss to just lie back and go with the current downstream, observing the beautiful flowering trees and lush undergrowth as it flowed by. I saw a couple of sloths just hanging about in the branches.

I became more intimate with the raftman when it came time to get back in as the next set of rapids were approaching fast. He told me to hold onto the straps of my life vest and he grabbed me by the shoulders, braced his feet on the side of the raft and heaved. In I went like a wet walrus, face first into his crotch!

We stopped about half-way for a snack of water melon and pineapple. I have been stuffing myself with the later. It in no way compares with what we get in Canada. The guide explained that most of it is exported and is picked before it is ripe. It is injected with chemicals to hasten the process and kill bacteria. Not so for local consumption. The same applies to oranges, mangoes and other fruits. I think this is what I like most about the tropics. Fresh fruit. At home, I don’t eat much imported fruit. I have been spoiled. Sigh.

The last part of the river was easy-going. Probably class one rapids. At the end of the descent there were change rooms and a free beer. It all tastes like European pilsner. No micro-brasserie industry here as far as I can see. It was then back on the bus for our lunch reservation at a coffee farm. Same meal as we had on the other day trips but at least this on had a bit of piquant bite to it.

There was a coffee brewing demo that answered a question I had about a contraption I have seen in several souvenir shops. There was also a hands-on sugar cane processing demo and a lecture about the health benefits of cane juice. I pointed out that the turmeric root on a nearby table was much more medicinally useful. I asked for and was given a piece. I ate it and my tongue was still orange the next morning but at least I should be in good health for the next few days.

I spoke too soon. Getting back on the bus, I stubbed my to on a piece of metal which ripped back the nail. Not due to the turmeric high but rather the shot glass of sugar cane moonshine we were offered. I just hope that I can get my foot into my hiking boot for the climb up the volcano tomorrow.

Since I was the last to be discharged, the driver was kind enough to let Claudette on the bus for the trip back to town. We have not yet got ourselves into a Christmas shopping mood as in past trips. Friends and family have always been appreciative of the exotic gifts we have brought back from our international trips. I did see a signed indigenous devil mask to add to our collection but hesitate to buy it from an ordinary souvenir shop.

We hurried to get to the bank machine and post office before they closed. A big disappointment at the P.O. Not a single stamp to be had. Everything is printed labels. I guess I will have to spend the half day we have in San Jose at the main post office.

We supped at a Peruvian restaurant on the edge of town. An excellent meal and the young waiter made every effort to see that we were well cared for. It is his first real job and only his fourth day. He was so eager I had to tell him to stop saying “excuse me” every 10 seconds. I told him only Canadians could be so apologetic and that it would not garner him better tips from Americans.

He called a taxi for us and we retired for the night. Still no internet in our cabin. Sigh.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb