Fruitful walk to town


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
January 23rd 2011
Published: January 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

After a slow and lazy morning I headed out for my daily (sometimes twice daily) walk to town. On the way out of the compound here at Ana's Place I met a guy (another baby boomer) from Michigan who spends about a month here each winter with his wife. We both agreed that we are extremely happy and lucky to be away from the cold temps.

In addition to walking to town for the exercise I had two goals in mind. One was to find the place where the pilates class takes place that I want to go to on Tuesday and the other was to locate Kay's Gringo Postres/Desserts (I've been erroneously calling it Kay's Gringo Cafe). I'm very pleased to report that I found both!!! Yay! And I also met a Tico family in the park that live in Barva in Heredia Province. I had a nice chat with the young mom, Guiselle, who's name is French but she's a Tica and doesn't speak French. There's quite a bit of European influence in CR, as many of them have been here for generations.

There's also a number of Chinese people here...as with the European they have been in CR for a very long time. Anyway meeting new & interesting people by chance is one of the things I enjoy about being in a different country. Of course we can do this at home as well but for me it's fun to have the opportunity to speak a different language and learn about their culture. They are usually interested in learning about ours as well.

Again no photos today...I'll get back into it ASAP!

Barb



Advertisement



24th January 2011

I think that's wonderful, meeting new people from all over! What fun. Did you find anything good to eat at Kay's place? Probably not gluten-free..... ;-<
24th January 2011

I forgot to mention in my blog that...
Kay's was actually closed by the time I got there yesterday. But when I was there a week ago yesterday for brunch their baked goodies were all full of gluten. Of course!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb