Happy New Year from Grand Cayman


Advertisement
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

1/1/09 - My New Year’s Resolution is to never ride a jet ski again!

Well, maybe not “never again” but certainly only if I am in control of it, and am not on any kind of a schedule to get somewhere and back. We had thought about doing the waverunner trip to the Stingray Sandbar because it sounded fun, and something we haven’t done before, but had second thoughts and put our name on the list for the early morning boat (we thought). Turned out with it being New Year’s Day, the boat wasn’t going out til later, so we opted to try the earlier SeaDoo trip - big mistake! It did accomplish the goal of getting to the sandbar, and having a good snorkeling opportunity for DD and the rental camera, but the trip out and back on the “bike” was horrible for two of us (DGS proclaimed it awesome upon arrival at the stingrays - but not me!). It was painful, uncomfortable, scary, etc. - I can see where riding one might be fun if one is in control, but I rode with the guide who was fearless and in a hurry. DD drove one with DGS on the back, and it was very difficult for her as well. The water was choppy, lots of spray in the face, no breaks, etc. It’s been over 10 hours since we got back, and my arm and thighs still feel like shredded jello. DD headed to bed before 9 p.m.

We were also pretty limited on the amount of food we had for luring the rays, and there were hundreds of cruise ship people out there already, with several boats, so there was a lot of competition. DD did get some good photos there, and over by the reef, so I guess it worked from that standpoint, but if/when we go again, we will do the boat trip (which we have done before and really enjoyed). There was one other family in our small group, and the 6-yo boy was not having a good time at all. He and I stayed on the bikes during the snorkeling stop. I didn’t think I’d be able to get back on in the deeper water - had trouble getting back on from the shallower stingray area. So, probably a fun thing to do for more agile and braver types, but for some
Fish near Cemetery BeachFish near Cemetery BeachFish near Cemetery Beach

The "friendlies" who like wal-mart fish food.
of us older and younger folks, maybe not. If you’re at all doubtful, and jet ski inexperienced, give it a second thought (or third) - try a trial run first before committing to the tight longer-distance schedule. It was CI$144.00 for the three of us.

Since we mistakenly got up too early, DGS had some football time with a couple of dads and sons, which he really enjoyed. After the stingray trip we needed some time to recuperate, but we wanted to get more use from the rental water camera, so we gathered up and went over to Cemetery Beach and had some good snorkeling and beach time. I tried my big float with the arms and pillow (and beer can holder) - very pleasant. It also worked well partially deflated for relaxing on the beach. I brought along a battery-operated pump in order to take floats in the car. I should have used it for that more often - very fun. It seems like the fish there are starting to recognize me - but I think they just smell the food, even when it’s in the waterproof plastic container - they swarm around me immediately - it’s way cool to be “swimming with the fishes” in the Grand Cayman way.

Starting to do a little organizing to get packed up to head home. Trying to eat up more of the food we brought and bought. Got some stuff at the warehouse store that hasn’t been used enough (case of seltzer, mandarin orange cups, granola bars) - but probably still spent less on them than if we’d bought smaller quantities at the regular grocery store.

I went down to play a little trivia, won one game - a small rum cake (and it was the first game I played, and one of the other teams had 6 people on it, and I was by myself!). We also had our usual hammock time tonight - it is rather cool and windy, so we take a blanket and pillow, but it’s still fun to do - I totally love being in a hammock.

A couple of days ago, we were being sad about thinking about going home, but today was fun, but exhausting, and we’re feeling ready to go home - maybe 12 days is just about right. Although I’m sure if I were planning on being here for a month, and didn’t try to do so much every day, I would totally relax into it and be happy to be here that long.

My first visit to Grand Cayman was New Year’s Day of 1981 on a cruise - and it was a wonderful day on Seven Mile Beach. And while we were relaxing on Cemetery Beach (which is part of 7 mile), I felt the same way - I could really do a lot more days just on the beach. DD is still to the point where she thinks it’s time to leave after less than two hours - she ended up going off to BK for food while I was being a beach coach potato, and DGS was hanging out in the water watching some other kids. I had wanted to stay for the sunset, but some dark clouds moved in and it started sprinkling, so we came on back to the resort.

Even with the rather unpleasant learning experience at the beginning of the day (I do always like to learn something new every day - it can’t always be good) - all in all, it was another lovely day in the Caribbean.

Happy New Year, 2009 (and we’re already planning our next trip to come back!).




Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb