Living La Vie Das Locals


Advertisement
Published: February 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bonaire

Zoomed in at 50% and still barely visible in the Atlantic Ocean

Jibe CityJibe CityJibe City

Windsurf beach
Just in case anyone thought I'd settled a little too comfortably into Calgary life, I'm writing to say Bon Dia (Good Day) from Bonaire. Bon - where? You ask. A tiny, laid-back island in the Dutch Antilles, I'd never heard of it either until a chance meeting with Joost, an elementary school teacher, during a visit with Koert in the Netherlands. When Joost revealed he was moving to this strange new place, I already knew it would be my next destination. Finally, after a winter of pining for sun, sand and vitamine D, I am enjoying tropical sounds, a cool breeze and the sight of sun-drenched fuschia flowers outside my window.

Joost and his friend, Romy (here living her dream as a horseback tour guide) inducted me into their lives the moment I escaped the long, slow journey through customs, greeting me with hugs and kisses despite the impossibly early hour (5 am on a Saturday!) of my arrival.
They have taken me on adventures I hadn't even imagined (admitedly, a result of doing very little research before my departure): windsurfing; a Jeep tour of the Washington Slagbaai National Park; a horseback ride and swim; night-fishing for Baracudas; snorkeling with
Into the Setting SunInto the Setting SunInto the Setting Sun

Island view from Joost's Jeep
vividly coloured aquatic life; not to mention plans for a snorkel-tour of the Mangroves (where we hope to encounter, but not get eaten by, many a large fish) and camp-out on the beach. To cap things off we've planned a wild night on the "town," or rather the pier, drinking locally brewed Cadushy (cactus liqueur) while dancing to island beats so as to free up my bed for Joost's next set of visitors and ensure my timely delivery to the airport as soon as the bars close at 4 am.

Adding to my delight with the island has been participation in Joost and Romy's daily activities: evening swims in the pool just steps from Joost's front door, cheap and satisfying lunches on Dutch meats and cheeses at nearby Eli Deli, an interview with Joost's class and attendance at the girls' team's soccer tournament, trips to the grocery store, movie nights with the neighbours and supper-time Dutch lessons that have taught me important words like "wheelbarrow" and "lamp post."

I've enjoyed myself so much I almost considered staying longer, but one part of me is resisting. As I've basked in relaxation, my skin has embarked on a crusade to
Primadonna IguanaPrimadonna IguanaPrimadonna Iguana

Posing for Joost and Romy
send me cowering back to the cold dark of Canadian winter. From a deep sunburn acquired on day 1 to the accumulation of mosquito bites at night, I'm starting to look like a raw sausage losing its casing...

At least some part of me will be relieved to go home on Sunday morning. The rest of me will be dreaming about this lovely place and the people who made every day on the island a Bon Dia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Great BlueGreat Blue
Great Blue

Stunning colours on the dangerous side of the sea
Island FareIsland Fare
Island Fare

Remnants of a delicious meal of goat stew, polenta and plantain chips washed down with an icy Polar beer
Educational MomentEducational Moment
Educational Moment

Joost illustrates the use of the crab's left claw for eating and right claw for attacking
Island LifeIsland Life
Island Life

One of Bonaire's beautiful birds
Joy RideJoy Ride
Joy Ride

Enjoying the wind and views from the roof of Joost's Jeep. Soon to regret so much exposure to the sun...
Snorkel SausageSnorkel Sausage
Snorkel Sausage

My new swimming get-up after learning that the sun is not my friend :(
Fisher JoostFisher Joost
Fisher Joost

Searching for a lucky place to cast his net
Joost's Relaxation StationJoost's Relaxation Station
Joost's Relaxation Station

Complete with lazy hammock
KralendijkKralendijk
Kralendijk

Colourful buildings on the tourist strip


27th February 2010

Looks wonderful!
Hi Ems - The island looks like paradise. Bonaire seems to be a hidden gem - not too many people I mentioned it to knew where it was. Sounds like you're having a super time - Romy and Joost sound like the perfect hosts! Enjoy to the max - reality hits Sunday! Love Mom xxx

Tot: 0.357s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 78; dbt: 0.3087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb