Jost Van Dyke...diving my 50th country...


Advertisement
Published: December 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

We are back to the BVI for another fun day! And yes, this time it's a diving day!



I did my homework properly this time. I knew the diving in Virgin Gorda was ok, but there was a nice lobster BBQ organized by Club Med 2. JVD, Jost Van Dyke is way smaller. This is a yachties paradise...and yes, diving seems to be way more fun! The island has only 180 inhabitants....so yes, it is a cute and small place. I'm diving today with Jost Van Dyke diving. First fun point, these guys are actually living on Tortola and do the 45 minutes crossing with the diving boat every morning.



Well, today it's actually not only me, I have the chance to get Thierry with me. Thierry hasn't dived for 10 years, he has 50 dives in his bag, CMAS 2 star, but no card with him. I told him to come with me and we would see. Well, they took us, as it was only us. To make it short, it seems you never lose your diving skills once you reach a certain level, Thierry had a great time in the water.



We left with our DM aka skipper for the corner of the island. This is more Atlantic diving than Caribbean diving. James, our DM, is a fun young Brit. But wait a minute...who is staying on the boat while we are diving!?! Smile! The good news, is that if the boat was ever to sink with those waves...guess that could happen, we would be informed of this at the safety stop...diving a very recent wreck!



We did 2 dives back to back. And the first dive was really not was I was expecting. Rock solid swell and 20 meters visibility. This is not really your walk in the park Caribbean dive...but it was truly fun. Lots of soft corals, tarpans, a nurse shark and some fun swim through...and did I write it....solid swell to make it a great dive.



Our second dive was something else...on the Caribbean side, so way more protected. But for the 20 first minutes, the visibility was not over 2-3 meters. I'm a spoiled diver, and have never dived with such visibility. Good for us, later on the visibility cleared to something like 5 meters. Well, I guess I can be happy, our first dive was pretty cool.



To reach the dive center, we took the first beacher. Than we did some hitch-hiking. Being picked up by a local at 8am is nice...even more fun when the guy is holding a fresh beer while driving! so after the dive, we went to the local pub for a beer. They had a nice menu....ready! The Burger was 45usd....yes, I'm not kidding...anyone for a lobster pizza at 79usd...not sure this is including any tax or tip....but to have your feet in the sand....that's a crazy menu. We walked back to the next beach....shall I say we climbed back to the next beach. Lunch on the boat....and no 45usd burger! Than came an afternoon playing lazy on the pretty cute beach. But trust me, it was way more cute at 8am while there was only us! Did I tell you I have a tendency not to fancy crowds anymore!



So great day of diving with Thierry...and ready for our next stop....and a pretty epic entry with that one! Oh yes, and having never dived in Britain, I guess I can now claim that I have been diving in 50 countries. I believe there is a total of around 70 of them on my "to do list", so not doing that bad after 11 years of diving the seas and oceans...


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



21st December 2014
After the dive...

cold beer
tough life
21st December 2014

Diving
Glad you are enjoying the diving.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb