Soon, A Farewell to Belize


Advertisement
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cobb HouseCobb HouseCobb House

One part sand to two parts clay add some water and fiber, stomp until mixed, press into wall and you have yourself a cobb house.
My time in Belize is drawing to an end. Over the past couple of weeks I have realized how comfortable I have gotten living in this environment. I’m getting used to the heat, if that is possible. I still squirm when I see a giant spider crawling in my room but my first reaction is not to bludgeon it with my hiking boots (which in the wet season are little more than weapons against insect invaders in my thatch). I know my way around the farm kitchen and have even had the opportunity to show new interns how to light the fire, harvest and learn to cook with unfamiliar foods. It does not ever strike me as strange to have to ford a river, walk two miles, and take an hour long bus ride to get into town. An encounter with a mouse in my bed in the middle of the night and a rather constant digestive battle are things that I’m not sure I will ever get used to. (Or want to get used to.)

We have been getting a lot of rain lately. The river is rising and conversations with locals are now about how muddy everything is instead of how badly the crops need the rain to produce fruit.

A few weeks ago we had five other interns here for a few days, so with all the extra labor we got everyone together to continue work on the cobb house. Cobb is a building method that uses clay, sand and fibers, and if done correctly I have been told can last up to 500 years.

In less than two weeks my Dad along with my Aunt Nancy and Aunt Mary are coming for a week long visit before I head home.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

HibiscusHibiscus
Hibiscus

Folklore says that this plant cures menstrual problems and brings back unfaithful husbands. Either way it is high in iron.
BananasBananas
Bananas

In bread, in porridge, on pancakes, in stir fries, in place of potatoes, with eggs...


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb