San Ignacio


Advertisement
Published: October 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My last couple of days in Belize were spent in a San Ignacio, which is in the west of the country, near the Mexican border.

My main activity was to visit some caves called Actun Tunichil Muknal (or ATM for short) which contain Mayan relics and skeletons. To get to the relics it was necessary to swim, wade or paddle for 500 metres and pass through narrow passages, which was great fun.

From San Ignacio I took a bus to the border town and then a taxi to the border itself. I walked across the border through Belizean immigration and then to the Mexican side. On the Mexican side it was like being in a different world! I had gone from an English speaking country, walked 50 metres and couldnĀ“t find anybody who spoke English! I managed to get a taxi and then a collectivo (shared taxi) to a town called Flores.

More to follow soon....


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb