Vacating


Advertisement

I spent 3 nights at Barton Creek Outpost. I enjoyed it here immesely and I am determined to return again someday. This is a funky place that tends to attract a lot of backpackers. About half of them were here long-termish serving as "volunteers". This arrangement seems to work very well for them and the proprietors of this place. It's genius! It was free to camp since I had my own gear so my only expense was the fine food prepared by the outpost that I elected to eat in lieu of the crap food that I carry in the car. The balance of the first day was spent soaking in the swimming hole located directly behind my tent and considering whether or not I would ever get my car back out of this place in one piece. I joined a tour for the second day and had a great time seeing the countryside and playing around in the very best swimming holes that this part of Belize has to offer. Swimming has become and probably shall remain the my number one pastime in Central America because it's too blasted hot and humid to do much of anything else. I refrained from participating in any of the cliff jumps due to my fear of heights but it sure looked like fun. I went for a short hike the second day. It was short in that it wasn't far and it didn't take long but it was no walk in the park. It was a mad scramble up and down a steep hillside on a somewhat obscure jungle trail. I considered at one point that the yellow markers might lead me to cannibals but there are no reports of such in this part of Belize unless the Mennonites are a breed apart from the ones we know in Pennsylvania. I feel like I got a really good dose of Belize from my time spent at the Oupost and that was exactly what I wanted. It was totally worth the extra effort to get to here. As a matter of fact, that's what made it extra special...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



8th April 2011

Belize Parks and Reserves
Starting to sound good. Going to take in some of Belize's spectacular National Parks, Natural Reserves and Wildlife Sanctuaries? Half Moon Caye might be worth a detour once you get out of the jungle and over to the coast. Much smaller distance than driving across Mexico, or states between PA and there. With English as the northernmost Central American nation's official language, travel issues should be somewhat easier than other places on your itinerary. Sounds like you are having fun. Vicariously enjoying your journey. Thanks for sharing.

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0906s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb