Sharks, sunburns and sails!


Advertisement
Published: December 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

In Belize City BayIn Belize City BayIn Belize City Bay

Walking around Belize City before heading to Caye Caulker
I know the next thing I should blog about was my last week of school, that ended last Friday. But to be honest - I was SO busy with end of school stuff, packing, trip planning and hanging out with Saima who got here last Tuesday - that I had no time for writing blogs! Plus, I still haven't totally processed the whole experience yet so you may just have to wait for a coffee date to hear about how that went. Suffice it to say, the last week was busy, fun, fast, and full of Christmas pageant practices. Leaving the students was really hard, I wish I could stay and finish the year, despite their craziness. It was so nice to finish all my work and actually leave for a trip where I wouldn't spend the entire time thinking about lesson plans and classroom management. All in all, an incredible experience with a lot of struggles and adventures and I am SO glad I got to come down here.

But in other exciting news! Saima and I just got back a few hours ago from the next leg of our adventure trip! She has been here since last Tuesday,
Yuma'sYuma'sYuma's

Our funky and very nice hostel in Caye Caulker
and we had a PG based week while I finished school. She did a couple day trips, and came to my school once to help out. On Monday, we left for Caye Caulker, in the barrier reef area of Belize, to do a sailing trip! We went with Raggamuffin Tours for a 3 day, 2 night sailing/camping/snorkeling trip and I loved it!

The water was so incredibly gorgeous, that kind of turqoise that you can't really believe exists in nature. We stopped twice a day to swim or snorkle, and the water was so refreshing. We had perfect weather, with just a few moments a day where a cloud would pass over the sun. Needless to say, I'm a little tomato coloured in some spots,but mostly just really freckly.

This morning was the best snorkleing day, on South Water Caye. I saw a nurse shark, two giant stingrays, seahorses, a lobster, a jellyfish, tons of colourful fish, and of course a lot of coral. The other snorkeling days were fun but not as full of fish as today!

As for the overnighting - we would sail until about 4 in the afternoon then we would arrive at an island to camp. The first night we were on a teeny island that no one lives on, but they have available to rent out I guess. There are a few palapas (palm roof shelters), quite a few palm trees and a lot of sand. We got a two person tent to pitch and share, and got to sleep under the most stars I have EVER seen. There's no dark like middle of the sea dark. It was a great experience. Last night we camped on an island that does have some people living there and a couple little guest houses, but it was still really fun - and bonus. I got to learn how to grill lobster! I helped one of the crew members, Shane, prepare the lobster for dinner. I told him I loved to cook and had never cooked it before, and asked if I could help. So that was a fun experience for me, even though I couldn't look their lobster cousin in the eye when I saw him in the coral today.

Another new skill - I learned a lot of words about sailing (their meanings are still a little fuzzy). I got to
Scrabble and WineScrabble and WineScrabble and Wine

That's one way to spend an evening!
hoist the jib (which was actually a 150 genoa) using the halyard. Like all that name dropping? I'm pretty much a sailor now.

Well, despite becoming a sailor in vocabulary only, it was a beautiful, relaxing adventure and I am really glad we went. I spent the days sleeping and reading in the sun, swimming in the Caribbean sea, camping on beaches under all the stars in the universe, and eating delicious fruit and fish that we had caught during the day. Pretty good three days if you ask me. Unfortunately my camera decided to go kaput on day two so I have only a few pictures right now. But just imagine - really pretty water, me looking really happy. Done.

On to the next adventure now! We spent tonight packing and cleaning my apartment. We'll leave around 8:30 tomorrow to catch the watertaxi to Puerto Barrios, Guatemala and then off to Antigua for the next few days. The plan is to celebrate Christmas by climbing a volcano!

Merry Christmas/happy holidays/happy days off everyone! I am sending you lots of sunshine, love and good vibes for peace and happiness for the holiday season and the new year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

 Myself in Yuma's hammocks Myself in Yuma's hammocks
Myself in Yuma's hammocks

Always stay at a hostel that has hammocks.


The one and only grey cloud we saw in three days, and still the water is so bright!


23rd December 2011

Ahoy Matey! Sounds like an amazing trip! Glad you had so much fun!! xoxo

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb