100 Days until I move to Belize


Advertisement
Published: January 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

At the PalapaAt the PalapaAt the Palapa

Lazy afternoons :)
Its hard to imagine how exactly things will work out when I move to Belize in May.

Sure, Ive been there five or six times in the last two or three years, but Ive never stayed longer than 3 weeks at a time... and Ive never been on the island longer than 10 days or so.

Im so lucky that I know people living there that I can ask for advice before I go ahead and make any uninformed decisions. If it wasnt for the knowledge of others, I probably would have found an apartment online and wound up in a dump with a dead beat landlord when I get down there.

My emotions about the move are all over the place - some days I cannot wait to get out of PA and away from the snow, the traffic, the drama, to start living a simpler life... and some days Im terrified to leave everything thats so familiar to me. I definately think I'll cry a lot the day I leave. I might even cry for the first week that Im there, just thinking about how much I'll miss my family.

Im going to start making myself a list of things to bring (other than the obvious, like clothes) so if anyone has any suggestions or knows of anything specific that I may want but possibly cant get down there, please let me know! Also, if anyone living in San Pedro happens to read this and knows of any decent apartments, a heads up would be great! I'll be staying at Pedro's until I find somewhere to live.



Advertisement



22nd January 2011

awesome
Hey there, I did the same thing last january. Im from OH. I got tons of things you should bring and tons of suggestions etc. Hit me up on facebook at www.facebook.com/aaronchristopher and i'll share all the info you care to hear. AC
23rd January 2011

What Are Your Plans For The Move
I too love traveling as there is always new adventures in a new country...food, sightseeing, attractions, historic sites & new friends. Also you get to do it all over again as you travel to a new city, province, territory or region & gather new wealth of experiences. My question to you is why are you moving to Belize? It is permanent, a working vacation, retirement home or some romantic interest that is pulling you...sorry for my impudence. And you look too young to be retiring so what is the job prospects there or do you have your own enterprise as an expert. I spent time in asia and lot of expats always wanted to bring in some extra cash also some times just torelieve boredom of the day. Me, I want to be retired soon (Florida), work part-time doing internet marketing on my laptop, have fun, eat sleep, play and be found at the airport between flights going to new places within the country and between countries. In fact let me die at the airport...doing what I love. Good luck in your adventures & be happy & safe.
27th January 2011

Re: Vincent
Hi Vincent! To answer your question, why am I moving to Belize.... to get away from the snow! I dont know where you are, but here in PA we just got almost 2 feet of it dumped on us. Guh. Actually, my husband and I both fell in love with Belize the first time we went. We got married there on the beach, made lots of friends, and decided to buy some land on the mainland. Because of obligations here, my husband isnt able to pick up and move quite yet, but he leaves next week to go down there and start working on the property. I, on the other hand, have nothing really keeping me here other than friends and family... so Im going to wait on the island until he is able to make a full time move, and then I'll be moving onto our property with him. (If all goes well.... I know anything can happen in a year or two) As far as jobs go... thats my biggest concern. Id like to do what I do here in PA - bartend and massage - but I know those are probably two of THE hardest jobs to get down there, so Im willing to do whatever comes my way. Id love to find some kind of work-from-home position, but so far all Ive found seem to be scams. Luckily, my husband will still be sending me money and helping me out while Im down there, so even though I do eventually need to find some kind of employement, Im trying not to let it worry me too much until I get down there. What part of Florida would you like to retire to? I absolutely love the Florida Keys... Thank you so much for checking out my blog and for the luck :) I wish you all the best in your travels!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb