Belizean food.....


Advertisement
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MMMmmmmmmmmmmm
If I were to sum up belizean food in a few words, it would be spicy, fresh, and sexy.
Having some girlfriends here for the last week has allowed me to re-experience the newness of the amazing food offered here in Belize. Just to give you an idea, here are some of the foods I have eaten in the last week:
Fresh lobster, conch and snapper bbq with plantains and veggies - all caught and prepared in front of my eyes, served with corn tortillas - pineapple for desert
Conch fritters, black bean soup, coconut crusted shrimp
Empanadas, more conch fritters, curry chicken with rice and beans
Meat pies and limeade
Sesame shrimp with a tahini dipping sauce, crackers and lobster dip, sushi and coconut tarts
Grilled tilapia and conch with veggies and a spicy pineapple and tomato salsa, and coconut pie
Baked whole snapper and grunt with potato, tomato, and plantains
Lobster burrito with lime and hot sauce, conch ceviche, and papusas
Breakfast burritos with eggs, bean, cheese, salsa and fresh corn and wheat tortillas
Belikin beers and rum punch!

Wow, actually writing all this out makes me full and reminds me how much I have been eating my way through Belize! (Maybe a diet is in my future? Somehow I don't think so......)

This Thursday I leave for Cayo where I will be studying with the Arvigo Institute for a week. I wonder what I will eat there.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb