Old Lady Vacations


Advertisement
Published: May 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

"You want to take me on a cruise? Are you kidding me? Next thing I know you'll want to take me to Hawaii or lord forbid VEGAS!"

"Just calm down Andrea," he says. "I thought you might actually benefit from a vacation. You know, something relaxing, self indulgent....easy."

Those are the last three words that come to mind when I plan a trip. I thought to myself, "I'm a traveler, not a vacationer." Travelers come home completely wiped out from exhaution due to bad beds in cheap hotels. Travelers come home depressed because their adventure is over and they're faced with their reality. Travelers come home sick from eating street food too tempting to resist. They come home with a backpack stuffed with filthy t-shirts and socks worn inside out. They come home feeling accomplished, more aware of the world and in touch with humanity.

"Give me a break!" he tells me, "Let's just go on a real vacation like normal people! Some place we don't need a vaccination for."

I get down off my soap box. "But cruises are such old lady vacations! We're not like 50 you know."

He reminds me, "You know how you always say you want to do everything? You want to see and do it all? Well, let's just do a cruise this one time and then you can check that off your list. You will have done it. If you hate it you'll never have to do it again."

Good point. Its a deal.

Turns out he was right. The cruise was relaxing and self indulgent and...easy. I actually liked it. Why was I fighing it? I have analyzed that question to death. I could get all Freudian about it and try to draw up something deep from my subconscious or better yet maybe my childhood. Why the hesitance to indulge in a bonafied relaxing vacation? Who knows.

What I do know is that four cruises later I can say with surity that there's something to be said for relaxing at sea, a little self indulgence, and coming home feeling refreshed. Maybe taking a break from traveling to go on a vacation isn't a bad idea after all. Just don't count on finding me in Vegas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



7th May 2011

I enjoy your wicked sense of humor and observation
Anastasia-- your blogs are terribly witty and enjoyable. I've recommended you so that I don't miss any of your work. I laughed until I cried at your ability to accept a cruise. We've all been there. Hey- don't rule out Las Vegas, it has more to offer than you might imagine and we're not talking about gambling. I loved your train ride from Seattle-- another one that had us laughing. Hopefully, we will write something that will entertain you. I can't wait until you give in and go to Las Vegas-- I'm certain your impression will be priceless.
7th May 2011

VEGAS BABY!
I think I'd actually like to go to Vegas now just to have something different to write about! My impression? Priceless? How about what happens in Vegas stays between me and travelblog? :) Thanks for the recommend. No pressure....
7th May 2011

who knew
Who knew being an old lady could be so enjoyable ?? And that guy that made you go, he's pretty good looking too. You are a beautiful couple. No bias here. Good pictures too.
8th May 2011

"I'm a traveler, not a vacationer."
"Give me a break!" he tells me..." Love it! And why wouldn't a traveler want to go to Vegas?
8th May 2011

Lol!
for someone whos not a ''vacationer'' you sure do pose like one in front of the camera. Which is not a bad thing. Not every traveller should look like a grimy backpacker
9th May 2011

What... you want to go to the beach? Uh...
I've noticed that much like everything else, travelling is not only about discovery and adventure but a way of finding and then cultivating the persona you want to be, and with it you automatically construct a sort of self-image and destinations that seem to fit with it. My colleagues at work still ask me which "-stan" I am going to visit each year, and I would shudder at the thought of a suggested weekend in Paris or Rome. The truth though, is that most of my recent trips have been into the hearts of sprawling commercial metropolises without much traveller "cred" and if I had doubts before I still enjoy it immensely once I finally arrive at the destination. And I have to admit; a day at the beach doing nothing but sitting in the shadow, eating overpriced and bland hodge podge dishes in a hopeless crowd of touts has its moments, just don't let me sit around for too long...
9th May 2011

Just Calm down Andrea....
OMG that is one funny blog. I can appreciate your terror. p.s. I particularly like the burrito picture [photo=6097805]
9th May 2011

invitation
i invite your to visit my town Bandar-e- anzaly in north of iran
9th May 2011

I know.
I do need to calm down....
11th May 2011
That's a big burrito...

MINE!!
That's a biiiiiiiiiggggg burrito! I want one RIGHT NOWW!!!!
25th May 2011

old ladies
Speaking as a 61 year old who bikes everywhere, does DIY, including plaster removal, etc I have no intention of ever going on a cruise! So boring! Or wasting time sitting in an airport! In Britain you'll find oldies doing really cool things, because We Were The Baby Boomers! We were the Sixties kids! We were the Rolling Stones Generation! Just look at Mick Jagger (or perhaps not!)
26th May 2011

old ladies
P S love the descriptions of a real travelers return, spot on, Several smelly backpack loads have been brought home for me to wash!
23rd November 2011
Me in Miami

Excellent picture.
23rd November 2011
Me in Miami

Gracias!
Thanks guys! Every I get a comment its like "whoo hoo!!!"
8th March 2013
That's a big burrito...

DAMN
THAT'S-A BIG-A BURRITO-A AH AH AH

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 38; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb