DAY TWO (part two): MORE SURPRISES


Advertisement
Bahamas' flag
Central America Caribbean » Bahamas » Nassau » Bahamas
March 28th 2008
Published: March 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My understanding is that the Bahamas has not always been very open with company details, but that it has cleaned up its act in recent years. The ground floor of the Registrar General’s offices is open-plan, with a counter separating the general public from those working at desks behind. A lady with two-inch finger nails asks me what I want. All I have to go on is:

HEADLESS LTD
2002
Sovereign Trust

She taps at a computer keyboard, using the nails (which really are a full 2 inches long) as talons, picking at the keys. It takes several minutes. She finds it.
You want the file? she asks.
Yes please, I say.
When it comes, I get a bit of another surprise. Headless Ltd was incorporated on the Bahamas by Sovereign (Gibraltar office) on the 27th of February, 2008. That’s exactly one month ago. By which time I already had my tickets for this trip.

I have no time to consider the significance of this. I am typing this as quickly as I can because I have to rush back to the hotel to grab my jacket and some smart shoes: I’m going to a tea party at the Governor-General’s residence.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb