Reno's Grill and Chill / Mason's Bay, Acklins


Advertisement
Published: November 6th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Whenever I land in Acklins, Reno's Grill and Chill is one of the first places I always stop before checking into my room. Meals could take at least 30 minutes to prepare since the food is fresh and cooked to order. So be patient. The food is worth the wait. After I place my lunch or dinner order, I usually get a drink, sit and chill under the tree, and get my feet wet while scrolling along the Bight of Acklins. Reno's Grill and Chill is a take-away that offers many native dishes cooked fresh to order. The price is very reasonable. But the big bonus is the fresh seafood. I know I am in for a treat when I see Reno walking from the Bight with the fresh catch of the day. I usually run up to him and request my lunch or dinner order before he even has a chance to take off his wetsuit.

The daily menu items vary based on the catch of the day. On the menu you may find fresh conch salad, cracked conch or lobster dinner with pigeon peas and rice, conch, lobster, or chicken wings snack (fries), grouper fingers, steamed conch, fried plantains, curry goat, crab and rice, and fried snapper/grouper. The hospitality offered at Reno's is like no other place on the island. For example, I requested crab and rice for the next day. It was ready for me the next day for lunch. Then I requested the curry goat dinner. The next day, guess what I had for dinner. Fresh curry goat, rice, and yams. I was so excited I had to take a pic of the food being cooked on the stove.

Reno also owns Reno's Bonefish Lodge which is directly next door. The room accommodations are intimate and comfortable. Whatever is lacking on the property, Reno makes up for it when it comes to personal and customized service for his guests. You will want to come back year after year after visit this local gem. Reno's Grill and Chill and Fishing Lodge are located in Snug Corner directly across the street from the Bight of Acklins. This location also offers a nice and serene spot to watch the sunset, get your belly full, get your feet wet, and enjoy island life.

Reno's Fishing Lodge and Grill is operated by Reno and his wife Pam. For more
The Bight of AcklinsThe Bight of AcklinsThe Bight of Acklins

The Bight of Acklins is a shallow (approximately 500 sq. mile) lagoon that separate Acklins, Long Cay, and Crooked Island. The Bight is superb for bone fishing, diving for lobster and conch, or just watching the sunset.
information, you can contact Reno or Pam at (242)476-0332


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Special OrderSpecial Order
Special Order

Reno and Pam provide personal hospitality for their guests. I had lunch the day before at Reno's. Pam asked if she could prepare a personal lunch for me the next day. I requested curry goat, rice, and yams. The next day I arrived for lunch. I could not believe she had my special order prepared and waiting for me on her stove.
Boat moored in the BightBoat moored in the Bight
Boat moored in the Bight

Here is a photo of a boat moored in the Bight. If you look closely, you will see the moon in the background. During low tide, you can walk for some distance out in the Bight. This area is well know for magnificent cruising grounds for boaters and romantic sunsets for lovers. The Bight has protected anchorages for boaters. It also has TONS of bonefish.
Footprints in the SandFootprints in the Sand
Footprints in the Sand

I have noticed on other Family Islands that total seclusion on beaches is not always guaranteed. However, a majority of the Acklins' beaches are very private.


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb