Aruba - Palm Beach area - 7 Day S. Carib. Cruise!


Advertisement
Aruba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Aruba
October 20th 2010
Published: October 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We learned our lesson the day before, and decided we'd book an excursion for Aruba to help fill the day and learn more about the area than just what a map would point out. We found a catamaran snorkeling tour that took us to the sunken Antilla ship, not far off the coast near the California lighthouse. We learned this ship was intentionally sunk by its own captain to prevent it's capture.
We also snorkeled in the same area in shallower waters. I pointed out to Jason a light colored striped eel I found moving along the bottom. I followed it around wishing I had my camera on me. After we surfaced, Jason told me it was really a sea snake. Sure enough, they are very poisonous!! Luckily they aren't aggressive and I was never very close to it.
After the snorkeling portion of our trip, it was open bar on our catamaran. The crew was fun and pointed out items along the shoreline as we sailed towards Palm Beach, the most popular beach on the island. There we had a barbeque lunch (ribs, beans, slaw, and corn) and a small amount of free time on the beach. Jason and I walked the shore and boarded the catamaran for a return ride back to our ship.
There was a small vendor market nearby and I got one of my favorites - coconut water! I first had one of these green coconuts a few years ago in Brasil. They chop the top off and stick a straw in it. You drink them just like that. I also got a bright red sarong to bring home.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb