Crew Catamaran Tour . . .


Advertisement
Published: December 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Catamaran CruisingCatamaran CruisingCatamaran Cruising

The Destiny in the Background
Every month a different department on the ship is in charge of crew activities and entertainment. Things like crew parties, movie nights, themed crew bar evenings, bingos, etc. And today a crew-only tour was offered. For $10, we had a three hour catamaran tour.

There wasn’t a big crowd, only about 35 crew members who went, but a handful that I know. I spent most of my time with Jody (the print shop technician, from South Africa), Anna (social host friend), the girls from the classical trio and Nikola (the fitness instructor who was trained with my Legend friend Ben, I learned).

We had about a 45 minute ride away from the ship. Us girls did a lot of dancing around the catamaran. But then the big group of us just laid on the mesh netting at the front of the catamaran, revelling in the brilliant blue of the ocean, the sights of Antigua we passed and the sun shining on us.

We reached the reef for snorkelling. Over the years the reef has been badly damaged by hurricanes our guides told us. It wasn’t the best snorkelling I’ve done, but it was nice nonetheless. Some fish, but not lots. The reef itself was pretty interesting to see. The coolest thing we saw though was a jellyfish. One of the guides just picked it up and handed it to Anna! Crazy. The water was quite choppy and extremely salty. It was nice to be in the water, but I was happy to be back on the boat after that.

After the snorkelling, the bar was opened for the typical catamaran rum punch. They serve lots of it down here. Potent stuff!

Then we sailed to Runaway Beach, where we were let off for a beach break. Most people headed off down the beach to where some shops and a restaurant were. I stayed with Jody and just sat in the sand talking. We said so many times today how lucky we are. To think that this is what we get to do in our time off between work shifts, on an extended lunch break, to go sit on the beach. Looking around at our surroundings, makes you feel like we have the best jobs in the world. Any fraustrations or irritations from work just don’t seem important and completely worth it for days like this.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



23rd December 2007

Jellyfish
I didn't realize you could hold jellyfish that wouldn't sting you. Exciting. I'd still be scared though. Glad you're loving your job.
31st December 2007

Netters!! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!! I've been moving and doing the holiday thing and getting wild news, BUT I'VE MISSED YOU! Glad you're healthy again. You ARE so lucky - and your stories are my escape at my lunch time. :) I know what you mean about jellyfish - i swam with them many times this past summer in the Black Sea and my boyfriend would pick them up all the time and I thought he was NUTS! He says the clear ones are safe - the ones with colours are poisonous, so be wary. Your trip to the Emerald Pool is beyond words. I think I would want my soul to live somewhere very similar to that place...and don't you look so cute in the waterfall!!! Love you, miss you, be well! :)

Tot: 0.388s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 29; qc: 153; dbt: 0.2328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb