Relaxing Weekends


Advertisement
Asia
July 20th 2015
Published: July 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hello! It’s been a crazy couple of weeks with the kids, but more relaxed weekends these last two weeks. Two weekends ago I went ziplining in Odawara which was a lot of fun! There were 8 different courses you had to go on and it wasn’t just a zipline that you go down, but you have to climb up a ladder and then go across different obstacle like things. There were lots of different ones like swinging planks, a tunnel, tarzan rope, and just a tight rope. Some of them were really hard and kind of scary but it was really fun and we had a good time. It took about two hours on Saturday and then there is a castle in Odawara that we went to but when we got there it was closed for construction. We took some pictures of the outside, but couldn’t go in so that kinda stunk. On Sunday we went to an ice cream and candy shop called Yokosukalicious because one of my friends swimming lessons kids was having a birthday party and invited her. It was pretty fun and we got a bunch of free food plus lots of sugar. They had wing, fries, frozen ice, cupcakes, cake, and bags of candy. I’m sure all the kids were bouncing off the walls the rest of the day. After that we went to the mall and walked around the shops. There was live music in the center so we hung out and listened to that for a while. Then we got ramen for dinner, my favorite, and went to Spy at the movie theater. The movies are only $3 here so we thought we’d take advantage and the movie was really funny.

This past weekend I was supposed to climb Mt Fuji, however when I got off work on Friday I had a call that the trip was cancelled due to weather. So that stunk and we had to figure out our back up plans since we didn’t have anything to do. We just hung out Friday night and relaxed. On Saturday another girl and I went to Tokyo and went shopping in Shibuya and Harajuku. There were so many stores and it was very dangerous. They had a 6 story Forever 21 and a 5 story H&M so, I spent some money. It was a lot of fun though; we walked around a lot and saw all the different shops. Shibuya has like the “Times Square” of Tokyo and we went to the busiest crosswalk where over 1 million people cross each day. Harajuku had a lot of nicer stores that were way too expensive like Dior and Ralph Lauren but we walked around. I think I read somewhere that they compare it to the Champs Elysee in Paris, but it wasn’t as nice. On our train ride home my feet were killing me and we had to stand the whole ride back, so I was excited to finally be home and relax. Sunday was really hot out, so we went and hung out at the pool in the afternoon. After the pool we went out to dinner and just hung out the rest of the night. Not a very exciting weekend, but it was pretty good considering all our plans got changed on Friday night.



I’m rescheduling my Fuji trip for August 8th so hopefully the weather will hold out and I’ll be able to do it, otherwise I won’t have any time! We had our first black flag day today, so we had to keep the kids inside. They were getting very riled up; I’m hoping we’ll be able to get them outside tomorrow. It hasn’t been raining very much lately, but now it’s very hot and humid. The kids are still crazy, I’m not sure if they’ll ever calm down😊 It’s crazy to think that I’m already half way through the summer! Leaving Iowa seems like it was so long ago, but it doesn’t feel like I should be half way through the summer already. Next weekend the plan is to go to the Izu Peninsula, which is supposed to have nicer beaches than the ones around here so hopefully we’ll have fun! I don’t know what else there is really, I should probably do some research. I’ll post again soon hopefully! Bye!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb