Bye-Bye Beijing


Advertisement
Asia
August 22nd 2006
Published: August 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

My teaching assistant, Emma and IMy teaching assistant, Emma and IMy teaching assistant, Emma and I

My first time eating dumplings. Thank godness for my T.A. She ordered my whole meal. If I was in charge, I'm sure I would have been eating the dog dumplings, yuck!
After some 21 days, my time in Beijing has come to an end. As I sit in my new Shenzhen apartment (let's call it what it really is, my new dorm room). It's hard to believe that I have been gone from america for 3 weeks, learned some chinese, taught for 2 weeks, taken a 32 two hour train ride, and made some amazing friends.

All that said, I pretty tired and since arriving in Shenzhen two days ago, I have gone through a rollcoaster of emotions. Partly, because I have been forturnate to have been blessed with a bout of dirreaha - which left me praying to the imodium gods and in bed for over 24 hours. But mostly because, now for the first time since i left america, am I on my own. Writing that and living it, feel so scary.

Beijing became comfortable. Walking to class with mary, laughing with eli and jaime, teasing James about being better than him in both TEFL and chinese class, sharing icecream with Jen, hearing my roommate's hook-up stories. It was all new, but in some ways had become familiar. And know what once was a large cluster of foreign
some of the most beautiful, smart and daring women I know some of the most beautiful, smart and daring women I know some of the most beautiful, smart and daring women I know

Mom, Aunt Diana, Chandra, Michelle, and Myself on our way to the Magic Castle. Los Angeles. 2006-08-28
teachers exploring a city together, has now become something compeletly different, and for right now unknown.

So far China is.......good food, cheap food, dirty, peeing in a hole, always caring toilet paper with you, learning how to better point at what you want, dirrearha, smoggy skies, billions of bicylces, melon slices on a stick, people staring and staring even more, McDonalds and KFC, generous people, 1 english television channel, bottle water, and fudsicles.

So far China is NOT....home, where I feel comfortable, completely foreign (most things are made here!)

But this is definitely an adventure, with ups and downs.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Me and MaoMe and Mao
Me and Mao

Its amazing the undaunted devotion to this man. I showed my reverance with a self portrait of the two of us. The next day we stood in line with thousands of other chinese for 45 minutes at 7:30AM to see his dead body. undaunted devotion!
My first and last rickshaw rideMy first and last rickshaw ride
My first and last rickshaw ride

Eli, Jaime and I thought, what a great idea, " let's take a rickshaw instead of waiting for a cab, which has a meter!" Little did we know that our little rickshaw cabbie and us did not see eye to eye on the price, and after much shouting and screaming, and us walking away, he finally took our inflated fair. That might just be my last rickshaw ride.
Because 1 palace is never enoughBecause 1 palace is never enough
Because 1 palace is never enough

Overlook the fact that the forbidden city is about 30 square blocks, of course the royal family would need another palace, a summer palace if you will. I will have to admit this one palace was gorgegous. Eli, Mary, Jaime, and I spent all afternoon skipping TEFL class and living like emperors and emperesses!
Party on the 10th FloorParty on the 10th Floor
Party on the 10th Floor

Still in College? On one saturday night, the boys on the 10th floor, through a preparty or sorts, complete with a bar room and dance room. I bet the hotel was sad to see us leave. Here are friends, Mary, Jen, Steve, and Grace
My apartment, oh wait, I mean dorm roomMy apartment, oh wait, I mean dorm room
My apartment, oh wait, I mean dorm room

So this is the extent of my new living space. Cozy?


23rd August 2006

How cool
I hope you are having lots of FUN!! I am very excited for you! Keep the messages going...can I tell some of the GVA kids about this site so they can check and see what you are up to? Roland
25th August 2006

Fried Duck Toungue
Hi Amanda!!! So great to hear from you!!! Very exciting (hence all of the exclamation points) Okay so here are some rules to follow when in China: 1) Stay hydrated 2) Try a new dish once every 2 weeks. For example Fried Duck Tongue. You can usually find them at the bars (they are like a peanut substitute at our bars). Start easy and get more and more risque. Remember, you've already had the runs for 24 hours so the bugger must be out of your system or happy to be living in you now. Think of it as your G.I. (gastrointestinal) protector while you are in China. You do realize you will have the same issue when you come back to the states right? 3. Buy a new outfit once every week. What does it cost, $3 maybe? 4. Learn to cook authentic chinese. What are the seasonings they use, basic techniques, basic cooking times, etc. Ever think of having the fish soup? See rule 2. 5. Stop eating the damn carrots and people will stop staring at you. You look like a really tall and skinny umpa-lumpa and they are confused. First they don't know what the hell an umpa-lumpa is and second orange is not a normal human color. 6. Have fun and write lots! Be well!

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0818s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb