Travels with a Burnt Out Do Gooder


Advertisement
Asia
July 25th 2012
Published: July 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

That's actually a misleading title. I'm not really burnt out and I'm not that much of a do gooder. But I am a little bit of a do gooder. I mean I have done some service good in my past. In fact the urge to do good intrigues me. And I do envision burning out while doing good. it happens to be the manner in which I will travel to Asia for the first time in January 2013. I will accompany Fr. Luke Tran who goes there at least once a year to visit orphanages and leper colonies, and bring much needed supplies. This is roughly our itinerary for the first 3 weeks.

Mon Jan 14 depart Newark NJ

Tues Jan 15 Tokyo stopover and Arrive Ho Chi Minh/SGN

Wed. Jan 16 Saigon REST

Thurs. Jan 17 <em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">Orphanage Saigon- Camau (S Vietnm)

Fri Jan 18 <em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">Orphanage Camau --- Rach Gia (SV) 259 k 161 miles

<em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;"> Orphanage Jan 19 Return to HCM/Sai

Sun. Jan 20 Leper colony HCM/sai to Hanoi flight 1732 KM

Mon Jan 21 Ha Long Bay 146 km

Tues. Jan 22 Stone Church (Phatdiem) 214 km ; bus to Quay Binh (cave)

Wed. Jan 23 <em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">Orphanage Quay Binh - Heaven Cave

Thurs Jan 24 Hue (Flight?) Our Lady of Lavang

Fri Jan 25 <em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">Orphanage Hue

Sat Jan 26 bus to Da Nang 2hr, then fly to Nha Trang

Sun Jan 27 Orphanage

Mon Jan 28 Fly Nha Trang to HCM/Saigon

Tues Jan 29 Fly from Saigon to Phnom Penh Angor what 322 km/4.5 hrsbus

Wed Jan 30 Phnom Pen

Thurs Jan 31 fly back to HCM/VTnam; 5pm fly to Bangkok

Fri Feb 1 fly Bankok to Calcutta CCU

Tues Feb 5 Fly back to Bangkok in pm Fr. Luke then flies back to Saigonn 5pm

AND FROM HERE ON I'M IN THAILAND ALONE FOR 8 DAYS. YIKES!!!!

No flights within Thailand yet but want to get in the Phuket or southern islands, Chang Mai in the north and Bangkok in those 8 nights. I think I have to go in that sequence. Anybody with advice about modes or transportation and accomodations welcomed as I don't have any arrangements yet.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb