Packing List for our 5 Week Trip in Hong Kong, India and Southern China


Advertisement
Asia
January 28th 2012
Published: February 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Pete has always thought we should make a packing list but I have never gotten around to doing it and neither has he. This trip I really wanted to take the least amount of clothes with me to last our 5 weeks in cooler weather.

Reason 1: to have more room to purchase items in India

Reason 2: we would be on the move so I would be hauling my backpack around

Reason 3: to see if I could really do it

No matter how hard I try to underpack I ALWAYS have clothes that I never wear on a vacation. When I started packing, Laura was here in Hangzhou with us and she had just spent almost 3 weeks on the road traveling around Cambodia, Vietnam and China. I was shocked at how Laura was able to survive with a much smaller backpack than mine and it was her 1st true backpacking experience. I asked her what she thought she couldn't live without and what she wished she left at home.

Here is my list of clothing items I survived on in Hong Kong, India and Southern China for 4 weeks and 6 days.


1 pair of jeans, khaki's, zipaway pants and running pants
1 pair of pajamas
1 cardigan (which I lost in Pushkar)
1 pair of gloves
1 headband/ear warmer
1 rain jacket/windbreaker
1 fleece jacket (when really cold I wore both jackets)
1 dressy shirt (wore for NYE and Taj Mahal, plus other occasions)
1 pair of shoes & shower slippers
2 tank tops (too layer in order to keep warm)
2 pairs of long john's/thermal underwear
2 scarves
2 bras
2 3/4 length shirts
3 long sleeved shirts
4 t-shirts
8 pairs of socks
13 underwear (can't wear these more than once)


I can happily say that my entire backpack including all our toiletries and misc travel supplies (which I didn't make a list of) at check in only weighed 10 Kgs=22 lbs. When we returned to Hangzhou my backpack weighed in at 11 Kgs=24.2 lbs. I succesfully did it!!!

*Note that I wore every piece of clothing on this trip multiple times and did laundry when needed throughout our travels.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb