I'm here!


Advertisement
Asia
November 8th 2011
Published: November 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

8000 miles later I'm finally here in Busan, SK! After spending the whole of Saturday frantically trying to reduce all my stuff from the 37kg it weighed to the 30kg I could actually take with me it was a relief to finally get here! Trying to pack your whole life into a suitcase isn't an easy task, and for those of you that know me well will understand that this, for me, is close to impossible.

I was met at apartment building by Jason (the teacher I'm replacing) and Chris who still has another 6 months left to work here. As apartments go this is pretty lush, a far cry from all the horror stories I'd read about on the internet of what some teachers have found themselves living in! There's a tv in the bathroom for example! Chris and Jason were great, gave me loads of tips and advice on what to expect in Korea. After the heartache of realising that there was no way I could bring my boards and half of my other prized possessions out here, I was pretty overjoyed to find that various teachers in the past have left loads of bits and bobs behind - within the first hour of me arriving I had inherited a surfboard, acoustic guitar, electric drum kit and a bike. Unbelievable!

After a Dunkin' Donuts for breakfast (yep thats right!) we headed off to the school where I'll be teaching for the next year. All the staff there are really friendly, and the school is in a lot better nick than half the ones back home! The kids are great, really funny. I think I made a good first impression - apparently I have big teeth and look like a rabbit. I haven't heard that one before, I guess everyone back home was too polite to say anything!

Straight off to the hospital then for my medical check. I was taken by a guy from the school, who doesn't speak English, to a hospital where they also don't speak English - this ended up in me being pushed, pulled and poked around the hospital for an hour or so! I'm still not entirely sure what half the checks were!

After having the afternoon off to rest I went out for dinner with all the teachers from the school. Turns out Koreans love to eat and drink, so after the first meal we headed to the next restaurant for a second one. Why not I guess! And the beer just keeps on coming, after dinner number two we went to a local bar for a few more beers, all this on a school night with my first real day the next day! But obviously I didn't want to be boring so I just went along with it...

And sure enough I didn't feel too great this morning, especially as I woke up at 6 and couldn't get back to sleep. So I've spent the whole day observing classes which pretty much involves me being constantly attacked, climbed on, and called names all day. My favourite today was 'Pinocchio' because of my big nose. I'm not sure if I'll have much self-esteem left by the end of the week! The kids are great though, its pretty hard not to like them, even when they are punching you! More of the same the next couple of days I think, then start for real on Monday!

Anyway, its been a crazy couple of days, I'm shattered but really enjoying it! I'm off to go and grab some food now, I'll try and update again sometime soon!

Ross x


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



11th November 2011

wow!
Hi Ross, this sounds not too bad so far - TV in the bathroom, what luxury! (is this the ONLY place you can watch telly ;-)???) Love the Pinocchio - but must say I never thougth your stonker particularly protruding! Must be the Korean flat noses by comparison!? Good luck with the teaching, but sound you'll have plenty of support - and fun! Love, Birgitxxx

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb