Wenjing Tulin


Advertisement
Asia
March 28th 2011
Published: March 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Weather really spoil thing, I wanted planning to visit Taizhong and Longjie near Jingdong, as I heard there could be some Yao and Miao in that area, also Jiujia in Zhenyuan area as I heard there could be Lahu people as well, but....rain rain rain...leaking umbrella...soaked up backpack...wet sock and cold feet.....I was running from places to places trying to get away from the crying sky. luckily I went to see the Tulin(earth forest)in Jingdong before the rain set in. The Tulin is about 20km south of Jingdong on the way to Zhenyuan in Wenjing town, "cross the bridge and eat up the 2km distant by foot" that was what everybody said and...it was exactly what it was! you could see the eroding cliff surface once over the bridge, so...there will be no danger being get lost. beside...there are people in the field that really helping. the Tulin is small but many stalactite in different shape offered huge space for imagination, many said the lot look like a Gothic church, wellllll....it does look like it indeed! anyways...even if the weather was fine, all those places I had plan to visit wasn't that promising either. This area seem like an costume free region, I hadn't seen a single costume dressed women, and....Yao and Miao??? in this Yi autonomy state...I doubted! And the Lahu area...I dug up more info and its said the area called Qianjiazhai, an new developed tourist site, kind of like those culture village everywhere in China, so...guess I better give it a pass! Both Jingdong and Zhenyuan was like a new built town without much character and uninteresting, both look clean but were infested with mosquitos which quickily reminded me of Janakpur in Nepal! The bus ride between Jingdong and Zhenyuan was pretty, plantation work was underway on both side of the river, unrolling a painting with soft shadow on water field.
The bus journey from Zhenyuan to Gasa was even better with superb scene! we rolled over the shoulder of Ailaoshan mountain, flog and croud streamed up in clear air, the area was luxury with green, layer after layer of terrace field unfolded while our bus drove along the contour of the mountain. I saw many good looking restuarants and guesthouse along the road, said it was one of the main tourist route in Xinping area, but you really need your own car to be able to tour this area as public transportation was limited. despite the refreshing sight outside the bus window, but inside the car was smoky and smoggy, yeah...people smoke! so...oopen and close window was the game between me and those seat behind me. they not complaint about the one that smoke and send them deadly air, but complainted about my being giving them fresh air(although it was a bit cold)! "I never understand how you people think inside your head?" I told them! Just yesterday the news said from 1st of May this year, not allow to smoke in all public area in China...it will be a law !!! This supposed to start from 1st Jan this year, but no idea why delay until this May. I still wonder how it will work??? no smoking inside the bus???? in China???? couldn't wait to see what will be the consequent!
Although the sky seem quiet down and no more tear, but my eye already set on Funing in the eastern end of Yunnan, it will be Wenshan region area, Lunar March is for the Zhuang people, at least the minority scene is promising. and now...another marathon bus journey begin!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb