Friends


Advertisement
Asia
January 24th 2011
Published: January 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Rach and I had a lovely evening.

We'd been working all day and it was the last day of the semester so everyone (including the staff) was a little bit hyper. We didn't have any food in at all so decided to treat ourselves to dinner out. We did try an old favourite Chinese restaurant but it was very busy and there was no veg left, just slimy meat looking things so we decided to spoil ourselves by going to the foreign-ish restaurant. Dio Coffee is actually the closest restaurant to where we work, directly below us, but it's very, very dear so we never go. It's also often quite smoky, which I don't like when I'm eating.

However, we got a wee booth in the corner and just sat there for two hours, eating pasta (me), sandwiches (Rach), chips and ice cream (both of us). It was all lovely, and it was so nice to just sit and chat and enjoy each other's company. At home we spend most of our time in our own bedrooms, and tend to talk a lot about work, so it was nice to get away from that. Most random part of the dinner was that the icecream (a massive, sweet knickerbocker glory type affair) had pringles sprinkled over the top. Not entirely pleasant so they were swiftly removed. The rest was delicious though, and we were so full by the time we left. We did try to order a cocktail each but I don't think they had any alcohol, but in fact we didn't need it and were both fairly flushed when we left and giggled most of the way home, especially when I couldn't close the taxi door properly and ended up hanging on for dear life.

We've been given three boxes of fruit (and one box of the horrible looking delicacy of black boiled eggs) by the headmaster of the middle school we teach at, which was really nice of him, but we're going to have to eat a lot more than we usually do to get through it all before we leave at the end of the week. So far I've only tried the pears, they are really small but very sweet.

I submitted my tax return (woo hoo) I think the website was confused by my voluntary redundancy payment so I nearly fell off my bed when I saw the tax I supposedly owed, but I think I've sorted it out now. I also started my online economics course in preparation for my MBA, and all I can say is, I am still rubbish at maths! Really hope I get to grips with some more of the basics before I show myself up infront of my new classmates....



Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb