The end draws near


Advertisement
Asia
November 17th 2010
Published: November 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,
Well I'm almost finished this great adventure. Only 3 1/2 weeks and I'll be home.
At the moment I'm a gamut of emotions. I am so looking forward to going home to my family and friends and to the wonderful country that is Australia. I miss them and my country so very much. On the other hand I love Cambodia, especially the Khmer people. Despite their terrible past, their useless and corrupt government and lack of basic facilities that we regard as simple rights, they are friendly, open, generous, caring, love a drink and a laugh. Rather like Aussies I guess!
The country itself is so beautiful. The green rice paddies with towering suger palms, villages with houses on stilts grace unsealed roads fringed with large shady trees. Monks chanting at the break of day, families having breakfast and dinner together outside, the constant 'hellos' and big smiles from passing children only adds to the beauty.
My experiences in this country have challenged me physically, emotionally and intellectually.
I feel that my opinions on many issues have been challenged and on many occasions, I've had to rethink those veiwpoints.
The many difficulties I have faced, of which being apart from my family has been the most challenging, have given me resilience, endurance and confidence in my abilities. My time here has taught me patience, tolerance and compassion.
The fact that the Australian Government has allowed me to have this life changing experience has made me so very grateful that I live in a country so generous and so proactive about the importance of both higher education and the fostering of ties with our neighbours and with less developed nations such as Cambodia.
It has been a journey I will never forget.
Cheers,
Kirsten




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb