Starting the work placement - Delhi 1


Advertisement
Asia
March 5th 2010
Published: March 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Now I am in Delhi (arrived 2 days ago) in very comfortable student-college type accom run by the Jesuits of all people! Attached bathroom with western toilet and hot water and a 'free' tab at the cafe etc... All a bit much given my last month's mode of travel but hey.....

Today I am pleased to announce (too much info I know) that after a course of anti-biotics my acute bronchitis (self diagnosed after checking the internet) has turned the corner - my expectorant (which is MUCH less) has turned from green to yellow to white in just 3 days! Very little hoiking this morning and a slight cough still so.... good news here!

BTW: my latest fantasy: try googling "Indian Enfield Bullet" and then see the "Thunderbird" model or the new 500 cc model. The latter is bought new in India for not much more than Aus $3,000 !! Hm..... Just thinking about my travels in one year (I want to do another 4 months after my placement ends) - into the mountains (Himachel Pradesh).....

So today is day 2 orientation - yesterday was a taxing day (not!) - met at 11 - waited around until at least 11.45 - had some info given - then a 45 min air cond Toyota Cruiser ride to VSO office for a very nice Indian tali lunch and welcome - more waiting around (and talking on phone to person in Orissa who will be my boss) - then a session on Indian sign language (why I don't know - never got told we'd be dealing with hearing impaired big time - seemed more like 'what to do to fill in some time' - but it was fun) - then back to lodgings. Today will be a tour or Old Delhi (this will be nice but I have been in Delhi how many times before ?- OK- others are newbies so....) and then an office party at VSO (now that might be interesting???) .

Then a free weekend - I'll be off buying a guitar and also some tabla to ship back to Makin Music shop in Erina (Isa the owner there was very interested but needs me to set up the link for him to regularly buy tabla so I said I'd negotiate the first set etc..). Then Monday off to Puri for a Development Forum of all 50 or so Indian based VSO vols etc.... = a 36 hour train trip each way (3 days away). Puri happens to be just 80 klms from where my placement will be (so we'll all go there come back for more 'orientation' before I then go there again in early April to start the real stuff).

Only thing is : this is not like travel mode and adventure and newness and 'real' India (yet) and I am sitting here thinking "OMG- what have I got myself into here" vs I could be out there doing nothing but having fun...... But it'll be OK and I do want to see if working in India is possible and meaningful.




Advertisement



9th March 2010

Hi Paul, So all this program starting your job is quite interesting...much waiting and talking before going really into it! I understand you wonder sometimes what you are doing there but it's great and courageaous! bravo sure I will come to have a ride on your motorbike.... kisses have a nice journey!

Tot: 5.26s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.036s; 3; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb